New Delhi hosts Joint Ministerial Commission between India and Australia

The Joint Ministerial Commission (JMC) between India and Australia was held in New Delhi. This was the 16th edition of the session. Piyush Goyal, Minister of Railways and Commerce & Industry, Government of India and honourable Senator Simon Birmingham, Minister for Trade, Tourism and Investment, Government of Australia co-chaired the joint ministerial commission held between two countries.

The session featured the participation of delegates from Departments of Fisheries, Revenue, Commerce, Agriculture, Department of Promotion of Industry & Internal Trade (DPIIT) and Ministry of External Affairs.

Agreements signed during the Joint Ministerial Commission:

  • Both the countries negotiated to improve bilateral trade and investments through revival of the bilateral Comprehensive Economic Cooperation Agreement (CECA) negotiations.
  • They agreed to deliberate on market access issues in both directions to enhance trade.
  • They agreed to work on mutual recognition of educational qualifications of the two nations.
  • They agreed to further the collaboration to increase the direct flights between Australia and India.

Important takeaways for all competitive exams:

  • Australia Capital: Canberra; Currency: Australian Dollar.
  • Prime Minister of Australia: Scott Morrison.

Find more National News Here


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *