Piyush Goyal inaugurates Kolkata’s East-West Metro line

Union Railway Minister Piyush Goyal inaugurated the first phase of “East-West Metro line” which is Kolkata’s second metro line. The phase 1 of the East-West Metro corridor is a 5.3 kms long stretch with 6 elevated stations and executed by Kolkata Metro Rail Corporation Limited (KMRCL).

Overall, the East-West Metro corridor of the Kolkata is a 16.5 kms long stretch. The East-West Metro corridor connects the Howrah on the West bank of River Hooghly with Salt Lake city on the East bank.

Key Feature of the East-West Metro corridor:

The East-West Metro corridor is the first ever transportation project of India where metro trains will ply under river “Hooghly”. It will come with Communication Based Train Control System (CBTC) supported with enhanced safety features like automatic train control mechanism and anti-collision.

The East-West Metro corridor is the second metro line of Kolkata. The presently running Metro services in Kolkata operate on only North-South corridor. This corridor is a 27.3 Km long stretch from Noapara to Kavi Subhas station. The North-South corridor was inaugurated in 1984.

Important takeaways for all competitive exams:

  • Chief Minister of West Bengal: Mamata Banerjee; Governor: Jagdeep Dhankhar.

Find More State In News Here