Home   »   Awards and Honours   »   PM conferred Lokmanya Tilak National Award...

PM conferred Lokmanya Tilak National Award in Pune

The Lokmanya Tilak National Award was granted to the Prime Minister of India, Shri Narendra Modi, in Pune, Maharashtra, during a ceremony that commemorated the 103rd death anniversary of Lokmanya Tilak. The prestigious award, instituted by the Tilak Smarak Mandir Trust in 1983, aims to honor the lasting legacy of Lokmanya Tilak. Shri Narendra Modi became the 41st distinguished individual to receive this esteemed recognition.

The previous year saw the presentation of the Lokmanya Tilak National Award to Tessy Thomas, a renowned senior scientist often referred to as India’s “missile woman.” Ms. Thomas played a crucial role as the project director for Agni-4 and Agni-5 missile systems, contributing significantly to the nation’s defense capabilities.

List of some notable recipients of the Lokmanya Tilak National Award:

Name Position/Title Year of Award
Indira Gandhi Former Prime Minister    _
Atal Bihari Vajpayee Former Prime Minister 1994
Dr Manmohan Singh Former Prime Minister 1997
Rahul Bajaj Chairperson of the Bajaj Group 2000
Pranab Mukherjee Former President 2009
Sharad Pawar Founder of Nationalist Congress Party 2016
Cyrus S. Poonawalla Chairman of Cyrus Poonawalla Group 2021

Read more about Lokmanya Tilak here : https://currentaffairs.adda247.com/biography-of-bal-gangadhar-tilak/

About Lokmanya Tilak National Award

In 1983, the Tilak Smarak Mandir Trust established the Award as a tribute to the enduring legacy of Lokmanya Tilak. This prestigious recognition is bestowed upon individuals who have demonstrated exceptional dedication to the advancement and growth of the nation, with contributions that are nothing short of remarkable and extraordinary. Each year, on the 1st of August, coinciding with Lokmanya Tilak’s death anniversary, this award is presented to the deserving recipients.

Key takeaways for competitive examinations

  • Lokmanya Tilak National Award was instituted in: 1983

 Find More Awards News Here


PM conferred Lokmanya Tilak National Award in Pune_4.1

Foxconn Signs ₹ 1,600 Crore Deal To Set Up Plant In Tamil Nadu_100.1