Home   »   Banking Current Affairs 2023   »   RBI Foundation Day 2023 observed on...

RBI Foundation Day 2023 observed on 1st April

RBI Foundation Day 2023

The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) was established on April 1, 1935, in accordance with the provisions of the Reserve Bank of India Act, 1934. The Central Office of the RBI, initially set up in Kolkata, was permanently moved to Mumbai in 1937. Sir Osborne Smith the first Governor of the Bank. The Bank was constituted as a shareholders’ bank. The RBI is the central bank of India and is responsible for regulating the country’s monetary and credit system. It is also responsible for issuing currency and managing the country’s foreign exchange reserves. The RBI works closely with the government of India to formulate and implement monetary and fiscal policies that promote economic growth and stability. It was set up as a private shareholder’s bank with a capital of Rs. 5 crores.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) performs various functions, some of which are as follows:

  • Formulating and implementing monetary policy: The RBI is responsible for formulating and implementing monetary policy in India, with the aim of maintaining price stability while ensuring adequate credit flow to the productive sectors of the economy.
  • Regulating and supervising banks and financial institutions: The RBI regulates and supervises banks and financial institutions in India to ensure their stability and soundness.
  • Issuing and managing currency: The RBI is responsible for the issuance and management of currency in India.
  • Managing foreign exchange reserves: The RBI manages India’s foreign exchange reserves and intervenes in the foreign exchange market to maintain stability in the value of the rupee.
  • Acting as a banker to the government: The RBI acts as a banker and advisor to the central and state governments in India, managing their accounts and providing them with credit and other banking services.
  • Conducting research and analysis: The RBI conducts research and analysis on various aspects of the economy, including banking and financial systems, monetary policy, and economic development.
  • Developing and regulating payment and settlement systems: The RBI develops and regulates payment and settlement systems in India, including electronic fund transfer systems, cheque clearing systems, and other payment mechanisms.
  • Promoting financial inclusion: The RBI works to promote financial inclusion and ensure that banking and financial services are accessible to all sections of society.

Here are some important dates in the history of the Reserve Bank of India:

Important Year History of the Reserve Bank of India
1935 Establishment of the Reserve Bank of India under the Reserve Bank of India Act, 1934
1937 The Central Office of the RBI, initially set up in Kolkata, was permanently moved to Mumbai in 1937.
1949 Nationalization of the Reserve Bank of India
1950 Introduction of a new system of note issue
1951 Introduction of a system of credit control
1969 Given additional powers to regulate the credit system with nationalization of 14 major banks
1971 Declaration of the RBI as the regulator of the Indian money market
1985 Establishment of the Deposit Insurance and Credit Guarantee Corporation
1991 Implementation of economic reforms to liberalize the Indian economy
1994 Introduction of the system of minimum capital requirements for banks
1997 Becoming the regulator of the entire financial system in India
2016 Introduction of demonetization of Rs. 500 and Rs. 1,000 banknotes
2018 Introduction of a new framework for resolving stressed assets in the banking system
2020 Implementation of a 3-month moratorium on all term loans due to COVID-19 pandemic
2021 Announcement of the issuance of digital currency, also known as Central Bank Digital Currency (CBDC), in phases

Here is a list of all RBI Governors until the present day:

Number Name Term
1 Sir Osborne Smith 1935-1937
2 Sir James Braid Taylor 1937-1943
3 Sir C. D. Deshmukh 1943-1949
4 Sir Benegal Rama Rau 1949-1957
5 K. G. Ambegaonkar 1957-1957
6 H. V. R. Iyengar 1957-1962
7 P. C. Bhattacharya 1962-1967
8 L. K. Jha 1967-1970
9 B. N. Adarkar 1970-1970
10 S. Jagannathan 1970-1975
11 N. C. Sen Gupta 1975-1975
12 K. R. Puri 1975-1977
13 M. Narasimham 1977-1977
14 I. G. Patel 1977-1982
15 Dr. Manmohan Singh 1982-1985
16 A Ghosh 1985-1985
17 R. N. Malhotra 1985-1990
18 S. Venkitaramanan 1990-1992
19 C. Rangarajan 1992-1997
20 Bimal Jalan 1997-2003
21 Y. V. Reddy 2003-2008
22 D. Subbarao 2008-2013
23 Raghuram Rajan 2013-2016
24 Urjit Patel 2016-2018
25 Shaktikanta Das 2018-present

Find More News Related to Banking


RBI Foundation Day 2023 observed on 1st April_4.1


IDFC FIRST Bank Launched India's First Sticker-Based Debit Card FIRSTAP_80.1

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *