Home   »   State News   »   Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu sworn in as...

Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu sworn in as the new Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh

Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu sworn in as the new Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh_4.1

Congress leader Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu has took oath as the New Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh at historic ridge ground in Shimla. Deputy Chief Minister Mukesh Agnihotri also took oath with him. Governor Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar administered the oath to both.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

The new Government in Himachal was attended by Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge, party leader Rahul Gandhi, AICC General Secretary Priyanka Gandhi, State Party President Pratibha Singh, Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel, Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, Sachin Pilot among other senior congress leaders.

Notably: On December 8, the Congress made a comeback in Himachal Pradesh, by winning 40 seats in the high-stakes electoral contest for the 68-member Legislative Assembly. The BJP could win only 25 seats while Independent candidates won three seats.

About the Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu:

  • A four-time MLA from the Nadaun constituency in Himachal Pradesh and the head of the Congress’s election committee in the state, Sukhu, who is a law graduate, began his career in student politics and went on to rise to the position of state unit chief.
  • Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu was the general secretary of the Himachal Pradesh unit of the Congress-affiliated National Students’ Union of India (NSUI). Later, he became the president of NSUI.
  • For the first time he won the assembly elections in 2003 from Nadaun in Hamirpur district. He then retained the seat in 2007 but lost it again in 2012 and won it again in 2017 and 2022.

About Himachal Pradesh:

  • Himachal was made the eighteenth state of India on 25 January 1971 under the Himachal Pradesh State Act, 1971.
  • Legislative Assembly seats- 68
  • Rajya Sabha seats- 3
  • Lok Sabha seats – 4
  • Major rivers and dams– Sutlej (Bhakra Dam, Gobind Sagar Reservoir, Koldam Dam), Vyas (Pandoh Dam, Maharana Pratap Sagar Reservoir), Ravi (Chamera Dam), Parvati
  • Major Lakes– Renuka, Revalsar, Khajjiar, Dal, Beas Kund, Dasaur, Brighu, Parashar, Mani Mahesh, Chander Tal, Suraj Tal, Kareri, Sarolsar, Govind Sagar, Nako Lake
  • National Parks– Great Himalayan National Park, Pin Valley National Park, Khirganga, Inderkilla and Simbalbara National Parks

Tamil Nadu Becomes First State To Launch Its Own Climate Change Mission_70.1

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *