Home   »   T20 World Cup: Australia wins their...   »   T20 World Cup: Australia wins their...

T20 World Cup: Australia wins their maiden T20 World Cup title

T20 World Cup: Australia wins their maiden T20 World Cup title_4.1

T20 World Cup

Australia won their maiden T20 World Cup title as they defeated New Zealand in the final by 8 wickets. A target of 173 in a global final is never easy but Marsh with his power and reach made it look like a walk in the park in the company of David Warner (53 off 38 balls), who also turned the wheels of fortune for himself and his team during a victory, achieved in 18.5 overs. Mitchell Marsh was named as the player of the match.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

About the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021:

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 had begun on 17th October 2021 at the Oman Cricket Academy Ground, the final match was commenced on 14th November in Dubai when the tournament’s two best teams Australia and New Zealand met in a decider. The event which was to be held in India shifted to UAE and Oman due to the COVID-19 situation in India. BCCI, however, will continue to be the host of the event.

Here is the winner’s List from 2007 to 2021:

T20 World Cup Winners List from 2007 to 2021
Year Winner
2007 India
2009 Pakistan
2010 England
2012 West Indies
2014 Sri Lanka
2016 West Indies
2021 Australia

The detailed analysis on ICC Men’s T20 World Cup winners  list, Runner Up, Player of the Series, Top Run Scorer, Highest Wicket Taker and Venue are given below:

Year Winners Runners Up Player of the Series Top Run Scorer Highest Wicket Taker Venue
2021 Australia New Zealand David Warner Babar Azam Wanindu Hasaranga Oman & UAE
2016 West Indies England Virat Kohli Tamim Iqbal Mohammad Nabi India
2014 Sri Lanka India Virat Kohli Virat Kohli Ahsan Malik and Imran Tahir Bangladesh
2012 West Indies Sri Lanka Shane Watson Shane Watson Ajantha Mendis Sri Lanka
2010 England Australia Kevin Pietersen Mahela Jayawardene Dirk Nannes West Indies
2009 Pakistan Sri Lanka Tillakaratne Dilshan Tillakaratne Dilshan Umar Gul England
2007 India Pakistan Shahid Afridi Matthew Hayden Umar Gul South Africa

Let’s have a look at the country-wise T20 World Cup winners list from 2007 to 2021:

Country Name No. of times Winner Year
West Indies 2 2012, 2016
India 1 2007
Pakistan 1 2009
England 1 2010
Sri Lanka 1 2014
Australia 1 2021

Find More Sports News Here

T20 World Cup: Australia wins their maiden T20 World Cup title_5.1

Women's cricket to make its debut in Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games_90.1

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *