Home   »   The Laureus World Sports Awards 2024...

The Laureus World Sports Awards 2024 Announced

The prestigious 2024 Laureus Sports Awards ceremony, held in Madrid, was a grand celebration of the world’s best athletes and their remarkable achievements. The event honored several sporting icons who have left an indelible mark on their respective disciplines.

Laureus World Sportsman of the Year: Novak Djokovic

Novak Djokovic, the world’s top-ranked tennis player, etched his name in the annals of Laureus history by becoming the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year for the fifth time. This achievement matched Roger Federer’s record for the most decorated male athlete in this category. Djokovic had previously won this coveted award in 2012, 2015, 2016, and 2019.

Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year: Aitana Bonmatí

In a historic moment, Aitana Bonmatí, a football star from Barcelona and the Spanish national team, became the first footballer to be named the Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year. Her exceptional skills and sportsmanship on the pitch were celebrated, marking a significant milestone for the sport.

Comeback of the Year: Simone Biles

Simone Biles, the American artistic gymnast, added another accolade to her impressive collection. With 37 World and Olympic medals, she is now the most decorated gymnast in history. Her remarkable comeback and outstanding contributions to the sport were duly recognized at the awards ceremony.

Breakthrough of the Year: Jude Bellingham

Jude Bellingham, an English professional footballer who plays as a midfielder for Real Madrid and the England national team, was honored for his breakthrough performances. Carlos Alcaraz, a tennis ace and a Real Madrid fan, presented the award to Bellingham, acknowledging his contributions to the sport.

Sporting Legends Gracing the Ceremony

The event was graced by sporting legends who presented awards to the winners. Tom Brady, a seven-time Super Bowl champion, and Usain Bolt, the sprinting GOAT, presented the awards to Djokovic and Bonmatí, respectively, adding to the event’s grandeur and significance.

Other Notable Awards

  • Team of the Year Award: Spain Women’s Football Team
  • Action Sportsperson of the Year Award: Arisa Trew
  • Laureus Sport for Good Award: Fundación Rafa Nadal
  • Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability Award: Diede de Groot

About the Laureus Sports Awards

The Laureus World Sports Awards is an annual event that celebrates remarkable sporting achievements and showcases the initiatives of Laureus Sport for Good. Shortlists for various categories are created through votes from over 1,000 sports media professionals from more than 70 countries, while the International Paralympic Committee shortlists the World Athlete of the Year with a Disability.

The winners in each category are determined by votes from the Laureus World Sports Academy, a unique group of sporting legends. The event provides a platform for supporting Laureus Sport for Good by showcasing the incredible work done to transform young lives worldwide.

The 2024 Laureus Sports Awards ceremony was a fitting tribute to the world’s greatest athletes and their achievements, highlighting the values of sportsmanship, perseverance, and excellence that inspire generations.

List of Cricket Stadiums in Andhra Pradesh_70.1