Home   »   Togo and Gabon become Commonwealth Association...   »   Togo and Gabon become Commonwealth Association...

Togo and Gabon become Commonwealth Association members

The Commonwealth of Nations now has 56 member nations after the admission of Togo and Gabon. The two historically French-speaking nations were formally admitted to the union at the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting, which was presided over by Rwandan President Paul Kagame in Kigali, the country’s capital. According to Patricia Scotland, the organization’s secretary-general, admission is determined by evaluations of a number of standards, including the democratic process, effective leadership, and rule of law.

Commonwealth Games 2022 Medal Tally

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams


  • The choice was taken following the heads of state and government’s consultation at the meeting.
  • Never were the two African nations British colonies.
  • According to Togo’s Foreign Minister Robert Dussey, the goal of the country’s membership in the Commonwealth is to broaden its network of diplomatic, political, and commercial relations.
  • According to Michael Moussa Adamo, the foreign minister of Gabon, joining would strengthen economic diversification while retaining ties with France.
  • President Ali Bongo of Gabon thinks modernization is a goal of joining the Commonwealth.
  • While Togo, a country in West Africa, began the process of legally entering the Commonwealth in 2014, the Central African nation’s formal application procedure began five years earlier.

Important Takeaways For All Competitive Exams:

  • Commonwealth Association Secretary-General: Patricia Scotland
  • President of Rwanda: Paul Kagame
  • President of Gabon: Ali Bongo
  • President of Togo: Faure Gnassingbé

Find More International News

Togo and Gabon become Commonwealth Association members_4.1

Sri Lanka raises fuel prices as it prepares for economic catastrophe_80.1

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *