Home   »   National   »   Vice President Election 2022

Vice President Election 2022: Voting Begins Today

  1. Vice President Elections 2022

Vice-President Elections 2022 will start on 6th August 2022 as per the announcement made by the Election Commission of India. Article 56(1) of the Constitution of India such that the Vice President of India shall remain in office for five years. The former Vice President of India Venkaiah Naidu has completed five years of duty and has to be replaced by Vice-President Elections.

The two nominees for the Vice-President Elections are Jagdeep Dhankhar of Bhartiya Janta Party from NDA Alliance and Margaret Alva of Indian National Congress from United Opposition Alliance. Jagdeep Dhankhar was nominated as the NDA candidate by BJP on 16th July 2022, he was the then serving Governor of West Bengal. On 17th July 2022, Margaret Alva was nominated as the Vice Presidental candidate by the United Opposition Alliance.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

Vice President Election 2022: Election Schedule

Event Date Day
Issue of Election Commission’s Notification calling the Election 5 July 2022 Tuesday
Last date for making nominations 19 July 2022 Tuesday
Date for scrutiny of nominations 20 July 2022 Wednesday
Last date for withdrawal of candidatures 22 July 2022 Friday
The date on which a poll shall be taken (if necessary) 6 August 2022 Saturday
The date on which counting shall be taken (if necessary) 6 August 2022 Saturday

Vice President Election 2022: Candidates

NDA has nominated Jagdeep Dhankhar and Opposition has nominated Margaret Alva for the Vice President Election 2022. In the below-given tables, you can get to know about the two candidates in brief.

Categories Candidates
Name Jagdeep Dhankhar Margaret Alva
Born 18th May 1951 14th April 1942
Home State Rajasthan Karnataka
Party Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) Indian National Congress (INC)
Alliance National Democratic Alliance (NDA) United Opposition
Nomination Date 16 July 2022 17 July 2022
Previous Positions
  • 1993-98: Member of Rajasthan Legislative Assembly from Kishangarh
  • 1989-91: Lok Sabha MP from Jhunjhunu
  • 1990-91: Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs
  • 2019-22: Governor of West Bengal
  • 1974-98: Rajya Sabha MP, Karnataka
  • 1984-85, 1993-96: Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs
  • 1985-89: Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports
  • 1991-96: Minister of State for Personnel, Public Grievances, and Pensions
  • 1999-2004: Lok sabha MP, Kanara
  • 2014: Governor of Goa
  • 2014: Governor of Gujarat
  • 2009-12: Governor of Uttarakhand
  • 2012-14: Governor of Rajasthan

Vice President Election 2022: Electoral Voting

The voting for Vice President Election 2022 has begun on 6th August 2022 in the Parliament of India. Prime Minister Narendra Modi casts his vote for the next Vice President of India followed by Union Minister Jitendra Singh, Ashwini Vaishnav, and Arjun Ram Meghwal. TMC abstains from voting for the Vice President Elections 2022 as the TMC MP and Parliamentary Party leader Sudip Bandopadhyay write to Sisir Adhikari, MP, Lok Sabha.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *