Home   »   Sports Current Affairs 2024   »   World Cup 2023 Points Table, ICC...

World Cup 2023 Points Table, ICC WC 2023 Standings, Ranking

ICC World Cup 2023 Points Table

In the Cricket World Cup, along with various other cricket tournaments, teams accumulate points based on their performance in the matches they participate in. The standard points system employed in these cricket competitions is as follows:

  • Win: When a team emerges victorious in a match, they are granted a total of two points.
  • Tie: In the circumstance of a match ending in a tie, both participating teams typically receive one point each.
  • Result: If a match is either abandoned or cannot be completed due to adverse weather conditions or other unforeseen reasons, both teams usually gain one point apiece.
  • Loss: Conversely, if a team faces defeat in a match, they do not secure any points.

Moreover, alongside points, teams are often evaluated based on additional criteria, such as the Net Run Rate (NRR). The Net Run Rate is calculated by subtracting the average runs conceded per over by the opposing teams from the average runs scored per over by the team in question. This metric becomes pivotal when there is a need to break ties in cases where two or more teams share an identical number of points.

As the tournament unfolds and more matches are contested, the points table is continuously updated, resulting in teams being ranked based on the points they have amassed. The highest-ranked teams on the points table usually progress to the knockout stages or playoffs, depending on the particular format of the tournament.

ICC World Cup Points Table 2023, Points Table

Team Played Won Lost Points Net Run Rate
New Zealand 1 1 0 2 +2.149
South Africa 1 1 0 2 +2.040
Pakistan 1 1 0 2 +1.620
Bangladesh 1 1 0 2 +1.438
India 1 1 0 2 +0.883
Australia 1 0 1 0 -0.883
Afghanistan 1 0 1 0 -1.438
Netherlands 1 0 1 0 -1.620
Sri Lanka 1 0 1 0 -2.040
England 1 0 1 0 -2.149

Find More Sports News Here

Asian Games Medal Tally 2023, Overall Medals Tally By 29th SEP_110.1


How many teams will qualify for World Cup 2023?

Ten teams will take part in the tournament

Which team selected for World Cup 2023?

India, Pakistan, Australia, England, New Zealand, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan & Netherlands are the 10 teams.

Who are the members of India 15 player squad?

Rohit (C), Kohli, Bumrah, Gill, KL Rahul, Hardik, Shreyas, Jadeja, Kishan, Surya, Kuldeep, Siraj, Shami, Axar and Shardul.