Home   »   2024 Pulitzer Prize Winners Announced

2024 Pulitzer Prize Winners Announced

The prestigious Pulitzer Prizes for 2024 were announced on May 7, 2024, by Columbia University in the United States of America. The awards, considered the most prestigious in the fields of journalism and arts, were conferred by Columbia University on the recommendation of the Pulitzer Prize Board. The winners will be formally recognized at a ceremony later, presided over by the president of Columbia University.

Journalism Category

Category Winner
Public Service Pro Publica (Joshua Kaplan, Justin Elliott, Brett Murphy, Alex Mierjeski, and Kirsten Berg)
Investigative Reporting Hannah Dreier (The New York Times)
International Reporting Staff of The New York Times
Editorial Writing David E. Hoffman (The Washington Post)
Breaking News Photography Photography Staff of Reuters
Feature Photography Photography Staff of Associated Press
Audio Reporting Staff of the Invisible Institute and USG Audio

Book, Drama, and Music Category

Category Winner
Fiction Night Watch by Jayne Anne Phillips
Drama Primary Trust by Eboni Booth
History No Right to an Honest Living: The Struggles of Boston’s Black Workers in the Civil War Era by Jacqueline Jones
Biography King: A Life by Jonathan Eig<br>Master Slave Husband Wife: An Epic Journey from Slavery to Freedom by Ilyon Woo
Memoir and Autobiography Liliana’s Invincible Summer: A Sister’s Search for Justice by Cristina Rivera Garza
Poetry Tripas: Poems by Brandon Som
Music Adagio (For Wadada Leo Smith) by Tyshawn Sorey
General Nonfiction A Day in the Life of Abed Salama: Anatomy of a Jerusalem Tragedy by Nathan Thrall

Special Awards and Citations

  • A special citation was issued to the late writer and critic Gregory Stephen Tate (Greg Tate), an American writer, musician, and producer.
  • A special citation was also given to journalists and media workers covering the war in Gaza.

About the Pulitzer Prize

The Pulitzer Prize was established by Joseph Pulitzer, a newspaper owner who, in 1904, provided funds for the foundation of the Pulitzer Prize as an incentive for excellence in journalism, arts, and culture. He donated money to the Faculty of Journalism at Columbia University to administer the prizes. The first Pulitzer Prizes were awarded in 1917, and they continue to recognize outstanding achievements in these fields annually.

List of Cricket Stadiums in Andhra Pradesh_70.1