Home   »   Australia Won the ICC Cricket World...

Australia Won the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 by 6 Wickets

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023, Australia has lift the world cup trophy by defeating India with a convincing 6-wicket margin. Australia reached the target in 42.5 overs with six wickets in hand. Australia faced an early setback in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 final when David Warner (7) fell to Mohammed Shami, and later, Jaspirt Bumrah dismissed Mitchell Marsh (15) and Steven Smith (4). At 47 for 3, the team was in a precarious position.

However, Travis Head (137) and Marnus Labuschagne (58 not out) demonstrated remarkable poise, constructing a game-changing partnership of 196 runs. This resilient effort not only put Australia in a commanding position but also paved the way for their sixth World Cup title triumph. With this win Australia has won the World Cup title 6 times viz. 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015 and 2023.

Earlier, fast bowler Mitchell Starc took three wickets as Australia dismissed India for 240 in the World Cup final in front of nearly 130,000 fans in Ahmedabad on November 19.

Australia’s Travis Head was declared the Player of the Match in his side’s 2023 ODI World Cup final win against India in Ahmedabad. The Australian opener top-scored for his side in a 241-run chase, with a 120-ball 137.

Australia in ICC ODI World Cup Final – Results

  • 1987: Beat England by 7 runs (Kolkata)
  • 1996: Lost to Sri Lanka by 7 wickets (Lahore)
  • 1999: Beat Pakistan by 8 wickets (Lord’s)
  • 2003: Beat India by 125 runs (Johannesburg)
  • 2007: Beat Sri Lanka by 53 runs (Bridgetown)
  • 2015: Beat New Zealand by 7 wickets (Melbourne)
  • 2023: Beat India by & 6 Wickets (India)