Current Affairs   »   Awards   »   List of Bharat Ratna Award Winners...

List of Bharat Ratna Award 2022 Winners of All These Years

Bharat Ratna Award 2022 Winners List

The highest civilian award in India is the Bharat Ratna award which was instituted in the year 1954. Bharat Ratna award is awarded to the people for their exceptional public service and performance of the highest order in any field of human activity like literature science and art. Any person in any occupation sex or position is eligible for this award. In a year maximum of 3 people are awarded the Bharat Ratna award. Bharat Ratna award is presented by the president of India. The first Bharat Ratna award was awarded to politician C.Rajagopalachari, philosopher Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, and scientist CV Raman in the year 1954. This award is also awarded posthumously, till now 16 people are awarded Bharat Ratna posthumously.

Current Affairs  Awards 2022

About Bharat Ratna Award

In a year only three Bharat Ratna awards are awarded. According to article 18 1 of the constitution, the award Bharat Ratna cannot be used as a prefix or suffix to the recipient’s name. The recipient of the award is facilitated with a sanad or certificate signed by the president and a medal. The youngest Bharat Ratna recipe in India was Sachin Tendulkar who received this award in the year 2014 when he was 40 years old. The middle is in the form of a people’s life which is 5.8 cm long, 4.7 cm wide, and 3.1 mm thick. It is a bronze medal and in the middle of the medal, the image of the sun is embossed which is 1.6 CM in diameter. On the other side of the medal state emblem and the Moto of the country are written in Devnagri script.

List of Bharat Ratna award winners

Till now 48 persons got the Bharat Ratna award and 16 were awarded posthumously. A list of all the people who were facilitated with the Bharat Ratna award is listed below with their contributions to society.

Year Recipients About
 Bharat Ratna 1954 C. Rajagopalachari Activist, statesman, and lawyer
 Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan  India’s first Vice-President and second President
C. V. Raman Physicists, mathematicians, and scientists
 Bharat Ratna 1955 Bhagwan Das Activist, philosopher, and educationist
M. Visvesvaraya Civil engineer, statesman, and Diwan of Mysore
Jawaharlal Nehru Activist and author served as the Prime Minister of India
Bharat Ratna 1957 Govind Ballabh Pant Activist and first Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh
Bharat Ratna 1958 Dhondo Keshav Karve Social reformer and educator
Bharat Ratna 1961 Bidhan Chandra Roy physician, political leader, philanthropist, educationist, and social worker
Purushottam Das Tandon Activist and speaker of the United Provinces Legislative Assembly
Bharat Ratna 1962 Rajendra Prasad Activist, lawyer, statesman, and scholar
Bharat Ratna 1963 Zakir Husain Activist, economist, and education philosopher served as a Vice-Chancellor of Aligarh Muslim University and the Governor of Bihar
Pandurang Vaman Kane Indologist and Sanskrit scholar, known for his five-volume literary work
Bharat Ratna 1966 Lal Bahadur Shastri Activist and served as the second Prime Minister of India
Bharat Ratna 1971 Indira Gandhi   First women Prime Minister of India
Bharat Ratna 1975 V. V. Giri Trade Unionist
Bharat Ratna 1976 K. Kamaraj Independence activist and statesman, former Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu
Bharat Ratna 1980 Mother Teresa  Catholic nun and the founder of the Missionaries of Charity.
1983 Vinoba Bhave  activist, social reformer, and a close associate of Mahatma Gandhi
Bharat Ratna 1987 Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan First noncitizen, independence activist
1988 M. G. Ramachandran Actor turned politician, Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu
Bharat Ratna 1990 B.R. Ambedkar Social reformer and leader of the Dalits
Nelson Mandela Leader of the Anti-Apartheid Movement in South Africa, President of South Africa
Bharat Ratna 1991 Rajiv Gandhi Gandhi was the ninth Prime Minister of India serving from 1984 to 1989.
Vallabhbhai Patel Activist and first Deputy Prime Minister of India
Morarji Desai Activist, and Prime Minister of India
Bharat Ratna 1992 Abul Kalam Azad activist and first Minister of education
J. R. D. Tata Industrialist, philanthropist, and aviation pioneer
Satyajit Ray Director, film-maker, writer, novelist
Bharat Ratna 1997 Gulzarilal Nanda Activist, and interim Prime Minister of India.
Aruna Asaf Ali Activist
A.P.J Abdul Kalam Aerospace and defense scientist
Bharat Ratna 1998 M. S. Subbulakshmi Carnatic classical vocalist
Chidambaram Subramaniam Activist and former Minister of Agriculture of India
Bharat Ratna 1999 Jayaprakash Narayan  Activist, and social reformer
Amartya Sen Economist
Gopinath Bordoloi Activist
Ravi Shankar Musician, sitar player
Bharat Ratna 2001 Lata Mangeshkar Singer
Bismillah Khan Hindustani classical shehnai player
Bharat Ratna 2009 Bhimsen Joshi Hindustani classical vocalist
Bharat Ratna 2014 C. N. R. Rao  Chemist and professor, author
Sachin Tendulkar Cricketer
Bharat Ratna 2015 Madan Mohan Malaviya Scholar and educational reformer
Atal Bihari Bajpayee Elected nine times to the Lok Sabha, twice to the Rajya Sabha, and served as the Prime Minister of India for three terms.
Bharat Ratna 2019 Pranab Mukherjee Indian politician, and senior leader in the Indian National Congress
Nanaji Deshmukh A social activist from India, education, health, and rural self-reliance
Bhupen Hazarika  Indian playback singer, lyricist, musician, singer, poet, and film-maker from Assam,

FAQs Related to Bharat Ratna Award

1. Who are the recipients of the Bharat Ratna award 2019?
Ans. The recipe and soft Bharat Ratna awards for the year 2019 are activist Nanaji Deshmukh, who was a social activist, Pranab Mukherjee, was a politician and the President of India from 2012 to 2017 and Bhupen Hazarika who was Indian playback, singer, lyricist, singer, poet, filmmaker, and musician.

2. How many Bharat Ratna awards can be given in a year?
Ans. In a year maximum of three Bharat Ratna awards are given to the people who have exceptional public service performance in the society.

3. Who is the first post-Humous recipient of the Bharat Ratna award?
Ans. The first post-Humous recipient of the Bharat Ratna award was former prime minister Lal Bahadur Shastri, he was a social activist.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

Find More Awards News Here

Bharat Ratna Award 2022: List of Bharat Ratna Award Winners of All These Years_50.1

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *