Home   »   Chameli Devi Jain Award 2024

Chameli Devi Jain Award 2024 for Outstanding Woman Media Person

The prestigious Chameli Devi Jain Award 2024 for Outstanding Woman Media Person of the Year has been given jointly to two remarkable journalists:

  • Greeshma Kuthar – Independent Journalist
  • Ritika Chopra – Indian Express

Selection Process

  • An independent jury comprising senior journalists selected the winners.

The jury members were:

  • Radhika Ramaseshan (Chair) – Senior journalist and columnist
  • Mariyam Alavi – Award-winning journalist and author
  • Richard Mahapatra – Managing Editor, Down to Earth

The winners were chosen from more than 65 entries of women journalists.

Award Ceremony

  • The award presentation will take place on March 15, 2024.
  • It will be followed by the B.G. Verghese Memorial Lecture.
  • The lecture will be delivered by T.N. Ninan, editor and author, on the topic “Work and Wages: Old Challenges in the Age of Automation and AI”.

About the Winners

Greeshma Kuthar

  • An independent multimedia journalist.
  • Engaged in deeply-researched long-form investigative reporting from conflict areas such as Manipur.
  • Her reports have appeared in publications like The Caravan and Al Jazeera.

Ritika Chopra

  • Chief, National Bureau (Government) and National Education Editor at the Indian Express, Delhi.
  • Oversees the newspaper’s coverage of government policyeducation, and the Election Commission of India.

About the Award

  • The Chameli Devi Jain Award for Outstanding Woman Media Person of the Year was set up by The Media Foundation in 1980.
  • It is named after Chameli Devi Jain, a freedom fighter and community reformer who was imprisoned during India’s independence movement.
  • The first award was given in 1982, and since then, it has been presented annually.
  • The award recognizes impactful journalism in fields such as social development, politics, gender justice, human rights, health, conflict, and consumer values.

The Chameli Devi Jain Award 2024 honours the exceptional work and contributions of Greeshma Kuthar and Ritika Chopra in the field of journalism.

Max Verstappen Triumphs at Saudi Arabian Grand Prix_80.1