Home   »   General Studies   »   Cyclone Nomenclature: How are Cyclones Named...

Cyclone Nomenclature: How are Cyclones Named in the World?

Cyclone Nomenclature

In general, cyclones are named according to the rules at the regional level. Cyclones are named over common names so that they can be remembered easily. During the 1800s, cyclones were named after the Catholic Saints. After that in 1953, cyclones were considered females hence, they were named over females. In 1979, male names were introduced. Now, in modern days cyclones are named systematically.

What is Cyclone?

Cyclone is derived from the word ‘cyclos’ which translates to coiling of the snake. Cyclones are naturally occurring atmospheric disturbances around low-pressure areas. Cyclones are generally accompanied by violent and strong storms and severe weather conditions. Cyclones are generally formed in ocean basins.

How is Cyclone named?

The Cyclones are named according to their category. Cyclones are categorized into hurricanes and typhoons. The Cyclone is categorized by its speed, if it is more than 34 nautical miles per hour then the Regional Specialized Meteorological Centres (RSMC) and Tropical Cyclone Warning Centre (TCWCs) name the cyclone. There are six Regional Specialized Meteorological Centres (RSMC) including Indian Meteorological Department (IMD).

Since 2000, The World Meteorological Organization (WMO) and the United Nations Economic and Social Commissioner for the Asia Pacific (ESCAP) have been naming the Cyclones occurring throughout the world. The Indian Meteorological Department (IMD) has named cyclones that develop in the northern part of the Indian Ocean, the Bay of Bengal, and the Arabian sea. IMD issues advisories to 12 other nations in the region on the development of cyclones.

In 2000, a group of countries decided to name the countries which are collectively known Economic and Social Commissioner for the Asia Pacific (ESCAP). In which, India, Bangladesh, Maldives, Myanmar, Oman, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Thailand were included. Later in 2018, Iran, United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and Yemen were also included in the group.

Why every Cyclones are named?

Cyclones are named to help people easily identify them as it will be difficult for people to remember technical terms. It makes it easier for the media, scientists, and the disaster management community to identify and define Cyclones and it also helps to easily disseminate information.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *