Home   »   ESPN India Awards 2019 announced

ESPN India Awards 2019 announced

ESPN India Awards 2019 announced_4.1

The ESPN India Awards 2019 was announced. The ESPN.in Awards recognise the best individual and team performances in Indian sport on a calendar-year basis. Cricket is already covered by ESPNcricinfo’s annual awards, and so is not included in these awards. ESPN Multi-Sport Awards recognised achievements across 10 categories.

PV Sindhu completed a hat-trick of ESPN India’s top honours after being named Sportsperson of the Year (Female) for 2019. In addition, her victory against Japan’s Nozomi Okuhara, which made her the first Indian to have claimed the World Championships in badminton, was chosen as Moment of the Year.

Below is the complete list of winners of  ESPN India Awards 2019:

S. No. Award Name Winner
1 Sportsperson of the Year (Female) PV Sindhu (Badminton)
2 Sportsperson of the Year (Male) Saurabh Chaudhary (Pistol shooter)
3 Emerging Sportsperson of the Year Deepak Punia (Freestyle wrestler)
4 Coach of the Year Pullela Gopichand (Badminton)
5 Team of the Year Manu Bhaker-Saurabh Chaudhary (10m air pistol)
6 Lifetime Achievement award Balbir Singh Sr (Hockey)
7 Comeback of the Year Koneru Humpy (Chess player)
8 Differently-abled Athlete of the Year Manasi Joshi (Badminton)
9 Moment of the Year PV Sindhu’s World Championships final win
10 The Courage award Dutee Chand (Athlete)


The winners were selected on the basis of votes by a 16-member panel of some of the biggest names in the sports fraternity, including anchor and commentator Harsha Bhogle, the first Indian woman to win gold at a shooting World Cup, Anjali Vedpathak Bhagwat, India’s first woman tennis player to have won a match in a Grand Slam singles main draw, Nirupama Vaidyanathan Sanjeev, World Championships medallists in their respective sports in Anju Bobby George (athletics) and Jwala Gutta (badminton), and senior journalist Rohit Brijnath.

Find More Awards Here

ESPN India Awards 2019 announced_5.1

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *