Home   »   General Studies   »   Smallest Divisions in Uttar Pradesh

Five Smallest Divisions in Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh, the fourth largest state in India, covers an area of 240,928 square kilometers, accounting for approximately 7.33% of the country’s total area. Known for its agricultural significance and rich cultural heritage, the state is home to numerous districts grouped into various divisions. Here, we explore the five smallest divisions in Uttar Pradesh, providing insight into their unique characteristics and significance.

An Overview of Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh is a state known for its cultural diversity, historical richness, and unique traditions. It attracts numerous domestic and international tourists each year, contributing to its fame and economic growth. The state boasts a significant number of districts, administrative authorities, and municipal corporations, making it a well-structured and administratively significant region in India.

Districts in Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh holds the distinction of having the highest number of districts in India, totaling 75. Additionally, it has 28 development authorities, 5 special area development authorities, 351 tehsils, and 17 municipal corporations. This extensive administrative framework underscores the state’s complexity and importance.

Largest and Smallest Districts of Uttar Pradesh

The largest district in Uttar Pradesh is Lakhimpur Kheri, covering an area of 7,680 square kilometers. On the other end of the spectrum, Hapur is the smallest district, with an area of just 660 square kilometers. Other notable mentions include Ballia as the easternmost district, Saharanpur as the northernmost, Sonbhadra as the southernmost, and Shamli as the westernmost district in the state.

Administrative Divisions in Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh’s 75 districts are grouped into 18 divisions, which are further categorized into four main regions: Purvanchal (Eastern Uttar Pradesh), Western Uttar Pradesh, Central Uttar Pradesh, and Bundelkhand. Additionally, some references include Rohilkhand, which encompasses the Bareilly district.

The Five Smallest Divisions in Uttar Pradesh

Among the 18 divisions, five stand out as the smallest in terms of the number of districts they encompass. Each of these divisions consists of only three districts, making them the smallest in Uttar Pradesh.

  1. 1. Saharanpur Division: The Saharanpur division includes the districts of Saharanpur, Muzaffarnagar, and Shamli. Known for its vibrant culture and historical landmarks, this division plays a crucial role in the state’s northern region.
  2. 2. Mirzapur Division: Comprising the districts of Mirzapur, Sonbhadra, and Bhadohi, the Mirzapur division is renowned for its scenic beauty and historical significance. It is a vital part of the state’s central region.
  3. 3. Azamgarh Division: The Azamgarh division includes the districts of Azamgarh, Mau, and Ballia. This division is known for its rich cultural heritage and significant contributions to the state’s eastern region.
  4. 4. Basti Division: The Basti division consists of the districts of Basti, Siddharthnagar, and Sant Kabir Nagar. It is an essential part of the state’s eastern region, known for its historical and cultural importance.
  5. Jhansi Division: Including the districts of Jhansi, Lalitpur, and Jalaun, the Jhansi division is a critical part of Bundelkhand. It is known for its historical forts and cultural landmarks.

Five Smallest Divisions in Uttar Pradesh_4.1

About the Author

My role as a content writer specializing in current affairs at Adda247 involves meticulously researching and crafting compelling articles aimed at guiding and informing candidates preparing for National and State Level Competitive Government Exams. With a dedication to educational excellence, I strive to keep our candidates abreast of the latest developments and trends in current affairs. By providing insightful and engaging content, I aim to ensure that aspiring candidates are well-prepared and informed for their examinations.