Home   »   Former Pakistan PM Yousuf Raza Gillani...

Former Pakistan PM Yousuf Raza Gillani Elected as Senate Chairman

Former Pakistan Prime Minister Yousaf Raza Gillani and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Syedal Khan Nasir have been elected as Pakistan’s Senate chairman and deputy chairman, respectively.

Election Confirmation

Senate Secretary Qasim Samad Khan confirmed their election to the top roles in the upper house of Pakistan parliament.

Senate Swearing-in

A total of 41 newly elected Senators were sworn in as members of the House in a session of Pakistan’s Senate. The lawmakers took oath amid protests by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leaders.

PTI Protest

On the floor of the House, PTI Senator Ali Zafar proposed postponing the election session until the Senate elections are held in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. PTI announced its refusal to participate in electing the Senate chairperson and deputy chairperson.

Dysfunctional Senate

Pakistan’s upper house became dysfunctional after the retirement of half of its members. Elections were held in Islamabad, Punjab, and Sindh, but not in PTI-ruled Khyber Pakhtunkhwa due to delayed polls.

Election Results

The Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz (PML-N)-led coalition secured 19 seats, sweeping the Senate elections. The ruling coalition now controls 59 of the 85 seats in the centre.

Foreign Minister as Presiding Officer

Pakistan’s Foreign Minister Ishaq Dar, who secured a win in a technocrat seat, is the presiding officer for the first session of the Senate. PTI Senator Mohammad Humayun Mohmand objected, arguing that a presiding officer should be someone who was already a Senator.


Former Pakistan PM Yousuf Raza Gillani Elected as Senate Chairman_4.1