Home   »   G7 Summit: PM Modi leaves for...

G7 Summit: PM Modi leaves for Italy On June13,1st Foreign Trip This Term

Prime Minister Narendra Modi leaves for Italy to attend the 50th G7 leaders’ summit. It will be his first trip abroad after assuming charge as the Prime Minister for the third term. Modi, accompanied by a high-level delegation, will attend an outreach session on the summit on June 14. The session will be focused on issues relating to artificial intelligence, energy, Africa and the Mediterranean.

About G7 Leaders’ Summit

  • The G7 leaders’ summit, to be held in the luxury resort of Borgo Egnazia in Italy’s Apulia region from June 13 to 15, is expected to be dominated by the Russia-Ukraine was and the Israel-Hamas conflict.
  • PM Modi will attend the G7 summit for the fifth time in a row. India has attended 10 G7 summits in the past; this will be the 11th one.
  • The G7 summit in Italy, the Prime Minister is expected to hold bilateral meetings and discussions with the leaders of the G7, as also the Outreach Countries and international organisations.
  • The G7 summit under the Italian presidency has chosen some key priorities for the current year.
  • Prime Minister’s participation in the G7 summit would also provide a timely opportunity to follow up on outcomes of the G20 summit held under India’s presidency last year, and deliberate on issues which are significant for the Global South.

Key issues in this G7 Summit in Italy

Africa, Climate Change, and Development: The summit’s first discussion will focus on these topics which are critical for Global South and India’s development.

Middle East and Ukraine Conflict: The ongoing conflicts in these regions are expected to dominate at the discussion at the summit, with leaders seeking ways to address and resolve these complex geopolitical challenges.

Artificial Intelligence (AI): AI is one of  the key topic on the agenda highlighting India’s growing focus on AI and its potential applications.

Global Challenges: P.M Narendra Modi will engage with other world leaders on pressing global issues, reflecting India’s commitment to addressing international challenges and its active engagement on the global stage.

What is G7?

The G7 (Group of Seven) comprises the US, the UK, France, Italy, Germany, Canada and Japan. Though the European Union is not a member of the G7, it attends the annual summit. Besides India, Italy, as G7 presidency has also invited Algeria, Argentina, Brazil (also a member of the G20 Troika), Egypt, Kenya, Mauritania (also holds the African Union presidency), Saudi Arabia, South Africa (G20 troika), Tunisia, Turkey, UAE and some international organisations, including the United Nations.

Static GK

  • G7 Founded in : 1975
  • G7 Formerly called: Library Group; Group of Six (G6); Group of Eight (G8) (reversion)
  • G7 Purpose: Political and economic forum.
G7 Summit: PM Modi leaves for Italy On June13,1st Foreign Trip This Term_4.1