Home   »   Awards and Honours   »   Gita Press, Gorakhpur awarded Gandhi Peace...

Gita Press, Gorakhpur awarded Gandhi Peace Prize for 2021

Gandhi Peace Prize for 2021

The Gandhi Peace Prize for 2021 will be conferred on Gita Press, Gorakhpur, in recognition of its “outstanding contribution towards social, economic and political transformation through non-violent and other Gandhian methods”, the ministry of culture announced. The decision to confer the award on Gita Press was taken by a jury headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

About the Gandhi Peace Prize

  • Gandhi Peace Prize is an annual award instituted by Government of India in 1995, on the occasion of 125th birth anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi as a tribute to the ideals espoused by Mahatma Gandhi. The award is open to all persons regardless of nationality, race, language, caste, creed or gender.
  • The award carries a cash prize of Rs 1 crore, a citation, a plaque and an exquisite traditional handicraft/handloom item. The past awardees include organisations such as ISRO and Ramakrishna Mission.
  • The past awardees include organisations such as ISRO, Ramakrishna Mission, Grameen Bank of Bangladesh, Vivekananda Kendra, Kanyakumari, Akshaya Patra, Bengaluru, Ekal Abhiyan Trust, India and Sulabh International, New Delhi among others.
  • The prestigious award has also been awarded to luminaries like Nelson Mandela, former president of South Africa and Julius Nyerere, former president of Tanzania among many other personalities. Some recent awardees include Sultan Qaboos Bin Said Al Said, Oman (2019) and Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman (2020), Bangladesh.

Gita Press

Established in 1923, Gita Press is one of the world’s largest publishers, having published 41.7 crore books in 14 languages, including 16.21 crore Shrimad Bhagvad Gita. The institution has never relied on advertisement in its publications, for revenue generation.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

Find More Awards News Here

Gita Press, Gorakhpur awarded Gandhi Peace Prize for 2021_4.1

Expansion of Grammy Awards: Introducing Three New Categories_110.1