Home   »   Awards   »   Government Comes Out With A New...

Government Comes Out With A New Set Of National Awards Known As “Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar’’


The Government of India has recently introduced a prestigious set of National Awards in the field of Science, Technology, and Innovation, known as the “Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar” (RVP). These awards serve a vital role in recognizing and honoring the exceptional contributions made by scientists, technologists, and innovators who have significantly impacted various domains of science, technology, and technology-led innovation.

The Vision Behind Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar

The primary objective of the Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar is to acknowledge and celebrate the remarkable work accomplished by individuals or teams in the realm of science, technology, and innovation. This initiative aims to inspire and motivate scientists, technologists, and innovators to continue their pursuit of excellence, driving progress and innovation in India.

A Landmark Recognition

The Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar stands as one of the highest honors within the scientific and technological community in India. It encompasses individuals from diverse backgrounds, including those working in government, private sector organizations, or as independent contributors to the scientific and technological landscape. The awards recognize path-breaking research, innovative discoveries, and technological advancements that have made a significant impact on society.

The Four Distinct Categories

The Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar consists of four distinct categories to accommodate a wide range of contributions:

1. Vigyan Ratna (VR) Award

This award honors lifetime achievements and substantial contributions made by individuals in any field of science and technology. It recognizes the cumulative impact of their work over the years.

2. Vigyan Shri (VS) Award

Distinguished contributions in any field of science and technology are acknowledged through this award. It highlights the exceptional efforts of individuals who have made a lasting mark in their respective domains.

3. Vigyan Yuva-Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (VY-SSB) Award

This category encourages and recognizes young scientists under the age of 45 who have made exceptional contributions in the field of science and technology. It aims to nurture and motivate the emerging talent in India.

4. Vigyan Team (VT) Award

Teamwork often leads to groundbreaking discoveries. The VT Award is presented to teams comprising three or more scientists, researchers, or innovators who have made an outstanding contribution while working collectively in any field of science and technology.

Eligibility Criteria

The Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar is open to scientists, technologists, and innovators working in various sectors, including government and private organizations. To be eligible, candidates must have made distinguished contributions through path-breaking research, innovation, or discovery in any field of science, technology, or technology-led innovation. Individuals of Indian origin residing abroad who have significantly benefited Indian communities or society as a whole are also eligible for these prestigious awards.

A Multidisciplinary Approach

The Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar encompasses 13 domains, ensuring comprehensive recognition of achievements in the scientific and technological spectrum. Gender parity is also a crucial aspect, ensuring representation from each field.


Scientific Domains
1 Physics
2 Chemistry
3 Biological Sciences
4 Mathematics
5 Computer Science
6 Earth Science
7 Medicine
8 Engineering Sciences
9 Agricultural Science
10 Environmental Science
11 Technology & Innovation
12 Atomic Energy
13 Space Science and Technology

Rigorous Selection Process

Nominations for the Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar awards are meticulously reviewed by the Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar Committee (RVPC). The RVPC, headed by the Principal Scientific Adviser (PSA) to the Government of India, comprises Secretaries of Science Departments, members of Science and Engineering Academies, as well as distinguished scientists and technologists from various fields of science and technology. This ensures the highest level of transparency and fairness in the selection process.

The Nomination Timeline

Nominations for these prestigious awards are invited annually, beginning on January 14th, coinciding with National Science Day, and remaining open until February 28th. The winners of the Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar are officially announced on May 11th, National Technology Day, and the Award Ceremony for all categories is held on August 23rd, National Space Day. Each award includes a certificate (Sanad) and a medal.

Find More Awards News Here

Government Comes Out With A New Set Of National Awards Known As "Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar''_4.1

Government Comes Out With A New Set Of National Awards Known As "Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar''_5.1