Current Affairs   »   General Studies   »   Har Ghar Tiranga: All You Need...

Har Ghar Tiranga: All You Need to Know About Flag Code of India

Har Ghar Tiranga Campaign

Har Ghar Tiranga is a campaign flagged under the Azad ka Amrit Mahotsav. The campaign encourages people to bring the Tiranga home and hoist it in the 75th year of India’s independence. The relationship between citizens and Tiranga has always been very formal. This campaign allows bringing the national flag home on the occasion of the 75th year of Independence, which will ultimately make a personal connection with the Tiranga and also an embodiment of our commitment to nation-building.

India Made Guinness Record For Synchronic Waving Of More Than 78,000 National Flags

Flag Code 2022

The Tiranga represents the hopes and aspirations of the citizens of India. It is the national symbol of our pride and respect. It has a unique identity in everyone’s life. The hoisting/use/display of the National Flag is governed by the Prevention of Insults to National Honor Act, 1971, and the Flag Code of India 2022.

Salient features of Flag Code 2022

  1. The Flag Code of India, 2022 was amended on 30th December 2021.
  2. National flag made out of polyester or machine-made flag has been allowed. Now, the national flag shall be made of hand spun and hand woven or machine-made cotton, polyester, wool, and Silk khadi bunting.
  3. A member of public a or private organization or an educational institution may hoist or display the national flag on all days and occasions, ceremonial, or otherwise consistent with the dignity and honor of the national flag.
  4. The Flag Code of India, 2002 was amended on 19 July 2022, and clause (xi) of paragraph 2.2 of part-II of the Flag Code of India was replaced by the following clause: (xi) “Where the flag is displayed in open or displayed on the house of a member of public, it may be flown day and night.”
  5. The National Flag shall be rectangular. The Flag can be of any size but the ratio of the length to the height of the Flag shall be 3:2.
  6. Whenever the national flag is displayed, it should occupy the position of honor and should be distinctly placed.
  7. A damaged or disheveled Flag shall not be displayed.
  8. The Flag should not be flown from a single masthead simultaneously with any other flag.
  9. The Flag should not be flown in any vehicle except the dignitaries mentioned in section IX of part III of the Flag Code, such as the President, Vice President, Prime Minister, governor, etc.
  10. No other flag or bunting should be placed higher than or above or side by side with the national flag.

Center modifies Flag Code of India 2002

List of people who are allowed to host national flag on motor cars

  1. President
  2. Vice President
  3. Governors and Lieutenant Governors
  4. Head of Indian Missions/Posts
  5. Prime Minister
  6. Cabinet Minister, Minister of State, and Deputy Ministers of the Union.
  7. Chief Minister and Cabinet Minister of a state or Union territory.
  8. Speaker of the Lok Sabha, Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha, deputy speaker of Lok Sabha, Chairman of Legislative Council in States, speaker of the Legislative Assembly in states and union territories, Deputy Chairman of Legislative counseling States, deputy speaker of Legislative Assembly in states and union territories.
  9. Chief justice of India
  10. Judges of the supreme court
  11. Chief justice of High court
  12. Judges of High court

FAQs related to Indian National Flag

1. What is the Flag Code of India?
Ans. The flag code of India includes all laws conventions, practices, and instructions for the display of the national flag. The Flag Code of India governs the display of the national flag by private, public, and government institutions.

2. What is the appropriate size and ratio of the national flag?
Ans. As per the flag code of India, the national flag should be rectangular and it can be of any size but the ratio of the length to the height of the national flag should be 3:2.

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *