Home   »   ICC announced the Men's and Women's...

ICC announced the Men’s and Women’s T20I Teams of the Year for 2023

The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the Men’s and Women’s T20I Teams of the Year for 2023, recognizing exceptional performances in the shortest format of the game. The selection highlights players who have excelled with the bat, ball, or as all-rounders throughout the calendar year.

ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year 2023 Overview

The Men’s T20I Team of the Year 2023 is a blend of emerging stars and established talents from across the globe. It features players from India, England, the West Indies, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, Uganda, and Ireland.

Key Members and Performances

  1. Suryakumar Yadav (India, Captain): The flamboyant middle-order batter led the team, having scored 733 runs in 17 innings at an average of 48.86 and a strike rate of 155.95, including two centuries and five half-centuries.
  2. Yashasvi Jaiswal (India): The young opener scored 430 runs in 15 matches, including a T20I century.
  3. Phil Salt (England): Salt played several impactful knocks for England, including back-to-back hundreds against the West Indies.
  4. Nicholas Pooran (West Indies): The wicketkeeper-batter scored 384 runs in 13 innings.
  5. Mark Chapman (New Zealand): Chapman led the Black Caps in T20I runs, scoring 576 at an average of 44.30.
  6. Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe): Raza had a fantastic year, making consistent contributions with the bat.
  7. Alpesh Ramjani (Uganda): Ramjani was pivotal in Uganda’s qualification for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, contributing with both bat and ball.
  8. Mark Adair (Ireland): Adair took 26 wickets at an economy of 7.42.
  9. Ravi Bishnoi (India): The leg-spinner became the No. 1 bowler in the ICC T20 Bowling Rankings by the end of the year.
  10. Richard Ngarava (Zimbabwe): Part of the bowling lineup, Ngarava’s performances were crucial for Zimbabwe.
  11. Arshdeep Singh (India): The left-arm pacer took 26 wickets in 21 matches.

Team Dynamics

The team is characterized by its blend of youthful exuberance and experienced campaigners. The presence of players from non-traditional cricketing nations like Uganda is a testament to the growing global reach of T20 cricket.

ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year 2023 Overview

The Women’s T20I Team of the Year 2023 also features a mix of established and emerging players from various cricketing nations.

Key Members and Performances

  1. Chamari Athapaththu (Sri Lanka, Captain): Led the team and had a phenomenal year in both ODIs and T20Is.
  2. Deepti Sharma (India): Deepti’s economical bowling and consistent lower-order batting performances earned her a spot.
  3. Beth Mooney (Australia, Wicketkeeper): A key member of the Australian setup.
  4. Ellyse Perry (Australia): Perry continues to be a pivotal all-rounder for Australia.
  5. Ashleigh Gardner (Australia): Another vital cog in the Australian team, contributing with both bat and ball.
  6. Megan Schutt (Australia): Schutt’s bowling prowess makes her an integral part of the Australian bowling attack.
  7. Nat Sciver-Brunt (England): A key all-rounder for England.
  8. Sophie Ecclestone (England): Renowned for her spin bowling skills.
  9. Laura Wolvaardt (South Africa): A consistent performer for South Africa.
  10. Hayley Matthews (West Indies): An important all-rounder in the West Indies team.
  11. Amelia Kerr (New Zealand): Kerr’s all-round abilities are crucial for New Zealand.

Team Dynamics

The Women’s T20I Team of 2023 reflects the growing stature of women’s cricket globally, with players from traditional powerhouses like Australia and England, as well as emerging cricketing nations.

ICC announced the Men's and Women's T20I Teams of the Year for 2023_4.1


Indian Army Launches Operation Sarvashakti To Eliminate Terrorists_90.1