Home   »   Schemes and Committees Current Affairs 2024   »   IIT-Madras Scholar's Suicide: 5-Member Committee To...

IIT-Madras Scholar’s Suicide: 5-Member Committee To Probe Incident

IIT-Madras Constitutes Inquiry Committee to Probe Research Scholar’s Suicide:

On March 31, 2023, Sachin Kumar Jain, a research scholar at the Indian Institute of Technology-Madras, died by suicide, which has prompted the institute to form an inquiry committee to investigate the matter.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

Not good enough': IIT Madras PhD student writes before hanging self - India Today

Former DGP G. Thilakavathi To Head Five-Member Inquiry Committee:

The five-member inquiry committee, appointed on 25th April, will be headed by former Tamil Nadu Director General of Police (DGP) G. Thilakavathi. The committee will investigate the circumstances leading to Sachin Kumar Jain’s suicide and will submit a report on its findings.

Other Members of the Inquiry Committee:

In addition to G. Thilakavathi, the other members of the inquiry committee are:

  • D. Sabitha, former IAS officer
  • Kannegi Packianathan, former IAS officer
  • Professor Ravindra Gattu, a faculty member at IIT-Madras
  • Amal Manoharan, a research scholar at IIT-Madras

Committee to Investigate Possible Academic or Personal Pressures Faced by Jain:

The inquiry committee will investigate whether Jain faced any academic or personal pressures that may have contributed to his suicide. It will also look into the support system available to Jain and any potential lapses in the institute’s mental health support services.

You may also read this: