Home   »   Sports Current Affairs 2024   »   IPL 2023 Format and New Rules

IPL 2023 Format and Rules, Know All the IPL 2023 New Rules

IPL 2023 Format and New Rules

IPL 2023 will have some a new Format and some Changed Rules. Due to the tournament’s home-and-away format, the Indian Premier League 2023 will restore happiness at home. The IPL 2023 season will have 74 matches between the 10 participating teams.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

There will be a group stage and playoffs for the IPL 2023 competition. The last time this home-and-away format was used for the tournament was in 2019. Due to the COVID-19 outbreak, BCCI made a number of adjustments and successfully held the competition for the previous three seasons.

IPL Points Table 2023

IPL 2023 Format and New Rules: Key Points

  • The last three IPLs have been staged in fewer locations; the 2022 edition was held in Mumbai and Pune, the 2021 edition was first held in a few locations in India before moving to the UAE, and the 2020 IPL was entirely held in the UAE.
  • The competition’s most recent iteration was held at six different locations in Mumbai, Pune, Kolkata, and Ahmedabad.
  • The league stage matches were played in three locations in Mumbai and one in Pune, while the playoff games were held in Kolkata and Ahmedabad.
  • The IPL 2022 championship game at Narendra Modi Stadium set a Guinness World Record for having the highest T20 match crowd.
  • Each team will compete in a total of 14 league games during the IPL 2023 season.
  • Seven of those 14 games will be played on their home pitch, and the remaining seven will be played on the home pitch of their opponent.

IPL 2023 Franchises Home Grounds

Below are the Home Grounds of the various IPL Teams for the IPL 2023:

IPL Franchises

IPL 2023 Home ground

Chennai Super Kings, CSK M. A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
Delhi Capitals, DC Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi
Gujarat Titans, GT Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad
Kolkata Knight Riders, KKR Eden Gardens, Kolkata
Lucknow Super Giants, LSG BRSABV Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow
Mumbai Indians, MI Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
Punjab Kings, PK Inderjit Singh Bindra Stadium, Mohali
Rajasthan Royals, RR Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur
Royal Challengers Bangalore, RCB M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru
Sunrisers Hyderabad, SRH Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad

IPL 2023 Format

The IPL 2023 edition will follow the same format as the previous year, however the sites will vary. The IPL 2023 format details are as follows:

  • Two groups of five teams each are created from the ten teams.
  • The groups and who plays who in each group once and twice were chosen at random.
  • Each team competes in 14 games during the group stage, playing the other four teams in their group twice (once at home and once away), the other four teams once, and the remaining team twice.
  • System of IPL Points: A victory in a game earns a team two points.
  • There will be no points awarded to the losing team. In the event of a tie or a deadlock, both teams will receive one point.
  • After the group stage, a four-game playoff round using the Page playoff format is played. In the playoffs, there will be four games played:
  1. First qualifying round: matchup between the top two teams from the group stage.
  2. Between the groups’ third and fourth-placed teams, in the elimination round.
  3. Between the loser of Qualifier 1 and the victor of the Eliminator is Qualifier 2.
  4. Final: between the qualifier 1 and qualifier 2 champions.

IPL 2023 New Rules

With the introduction of the Impact Player Rule for the IPL 2023 season, a significant shift in IPL history was made. The competition will otherwise adhere to the rules from the last iteration. The IPL 2023 rules are described in the sections below:

  • Before handling their final playing 11 after the toss in IPL 2023, team captains might enter the pitch with two separate team sheets.
  • The teams can choose their best 11 following the toss, depending on the outcome of the coin toss. But, up until last season, the captains were required to switch teams before the toss.
  • The new regulation was put in place by the BCCI to curtail the proverb “win toss, win match” under specific circumstances.
  • Two DRS will be used in the IPL in 2023.
  • In the IPL, players can review wides and no-balls.
  • Upon a catch dismissal, the incoming batsman will take the strike whether the batsmen have crossed or not, unless it’s the final ball of the over.
  • The BCCI will try to reschedule the game for later in the IPL 2023 if any side is unable to find their starting lineup owing to COVID-19.
  • The IPL Technical Team will investigate the situation if rescheduling is not an option.
  • In the playoffs or the championship game, the club that finished higher in the league will be crowned the victor if the Super Over or any future Super Overs cannot be completed for any reason.

WPL 2023 Final: Mumbai Indians defeated Delhi Capitals by seven wickets

IPL 2023 Updated Playing Rules

  • For each over that is not finished within the allotted time, there is an over rate penalty of only four fielders outside the 30-yard circle.
  • A dead ball and five penalty runs will result from the wicketkeeper moving unfairly.
  • A fielder’s unfair movement will result in a dead ball and five penalty runs.

Also Read: IPL 2023 Schedule, Start Date, Time table, Match List, Venues

Find More Sports News Here

IPL 2023 Format and Rules, Know All the IPL 2023 New Rules_4.1

Tata Steel Officially Partnered FIH Men's World Cup 2023_70.1



What is the new format of IPL 2023?

The new format of IPL 2023 will feature 10 teams instead of the current 8. The teams will play a total of 94 matches, with each team playing 9 matches at home and 9 matches away. The top 4 teams at the end of the league stage will qualify for the playoffs.

When will IPL 2023 start?

The exact dates for IPL 2023 have not been announced yet. However, it is expected to start in the last week of March or the first week of April 2023.

What are the new rules for IPL 2023?

One of the major new rules for IPL 2023 is that each team will be allowed to play a maximum of 4 overseas players in their playing XI. Additionally, there will be a salary cap of INR 90 crores per team for the players' auction.

Will there be any changes in the player retention policy?

There has been no official announcement on the player retention policy for IPL 2023 yet. However, it is expected that each team will be allowed to retain a maximum of 4 players ahead of the auction.

Which cities will host IPL 2023 matches?

The list of cities that will host IPL 2023 matches has not been announced yet. However, it is expected that the tournament will be played across multiple cities in India, just like previous editions.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *