Home   »   Sports Current Affairs 2024   »   WPL 2023 Final

WPL 2023 Final: Mumbai Indians defeated Delhi Capitals by seven wickets

WPL 2023 Final: Mumbai Indians defeated Delhi Capitals by seven wickets_4.1

WPL 2023 Final

In the Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2023 final, held at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai, the Mumbai Indians won against the Delhi Capitals by seven wickets. The Delhi Capitals chose to bat first after winning the toss, and set a target of 132 runs. In response, the Mumbai Indians achieved the target by scoring 134/3 in 19.3 overs. Nat Sciver-Brunt played exceptionally well and remained unbeaten after scoring 60 runs off 55 balls, while the team’s captain Harmanpreet Kaur contributed 37 runs off 39 balls. The Harmapreet Kaur-led side scripted history by becoming the winners of the 2023 edition of the tournament.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

WPL 2023 Final: Brief Score

  • Delhi Capitals: 131 for 9 in 20 overs (Meg Lanning 35; Hayley Matthews 3/5, Issy Wong 3/42).
  • Mumbai Indians: 134 for 3 in 19.3 overs (Nat Sciver-Brunt 60 not out, Harmanpreet kaur 37; Radha Yadav 1/24).

WPL 2023 Final: Orange Cap

Credit: Sportskeeda

After an outstanding performance throughout the tournament, Meg Lanning was crowned the winner of the WPL 2023 Orange Cap. The captain of the Delhi Capitals was the top scorer for her team in the final, contributing 35 runs in the first innings. Throughout the season, Lanning scored a total of 345 runs and finished with an impressive average of 49.29 and a strike rate of 139.11 in nine matches.

WPL 2023 Final: Purple Cap

WPL 2023 Final: Mumbai Indians defeated Delhi Capitals by seven wickets_6.1

Hayley Matthews, who plays for Mumbai Indians, was awarded the Purple Cap for her excellent performance in the WPL 2023 final. Matthews, who is an all-rounder from the Caribbean, triggered the collapse of the Delhi Capitals by taking three wickets for just five runs in her four overs. With this performance, her total wicket tally in the tournament reached 16, which led her to clinch the Purple Cap.

WPL 2023: Full list of award winners

Awards Player/Team Cash Prize/Awards
WPL 2023 Orange Cap winner (Most Runs): Meg Lanning, Delhi Capitals  Rs 5 Lakh
WPL 2023 Purple Cap winner (Most Wickets) Hayley Matthews, Mumbai Indians  Rs 5 Lakh
Most Valuable Player Hayley Matthews, Mumbai Indians  Rs 5 Lakh
Best Catch of the Season: Harmanpreet Kaur, Mumbai Indians  Rs 5 Lakh
FairPlay Award: Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals (Shared).  Trophy
Emerging Player of the Season: Yastika Bhatia, Mumbai Indians  Rs 5 Lakh
Power Striker of the Tournament: Sophie Devine, Royal Challengers Bangalore  Rs 5 Lakh
Player of the Match in Final Natalie Sciver, Mumbai Indians  Rs 5 Lakh

You may also read this:

Find More Sports News Here

WPL 2023 Final: Mumbai Indians defeated Delhi Capitals by seven wickets_7.1

Tata Steel Officially Partnered FIH Men's World Cup 2023_70.1

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *