Home   »   Awards and Honours   »   Filmmaker KP Kumaran honoured with JC...

Filmmaker KP Kumaran honoured with JC Daniel Award 2022

Filmmaker KP Kumaran honoured with JC Daniel Award 2022_4.1

Malayalam filmmaker, KP Kumaran has been honoured with Kerala’s highest film award, the JC Daniel Award. Kumaran won the award for his contribution to the Malayalam film industry. The award comprises of a cash prize of Rs 5 lakh, a citation, and a plaque. The 2021 jury included singer P Jayachandran, director Sibi Malayil, film academy chairman Ranjith, and Rani George, the principal secretary of the Department of Cultural Affairs.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

The career of KP Kumaran

  • The filmmaker made his directorial debut with Athithi in 1975 and earned fame for his films like Rugmini, which won the National Award for a Best feature film in Malayalam and the Kerala State Film Award in 1989.
  • He is also known for films like Thenthulli, Laxmivijayam and Thottam. The filmmaker’s last directorial venture was 2020’s Gramavrikshathile Kuyil. The film chronicles the life of Kumaran Asan, a philosopher, poet, social reformer and industrialist.

About the JC Daniel Award:

  • JC Daniel Award is Kerala’s highest award in Malayalam cinema. It is presented annually by the Kerala State Chalachitra Academy, a nonprofit institution under the Department of Cultural Affairs. Instituted in 1992, the award is given to honour the recipients for their outstanding contribution to Malayalam cinema.
  • The award was created to commemorate the contribution of Indian filmmaker JC Daniel, who is often regarded as the father of Malayalam cinema.
  • Since its inception, the award has been bestowed on 27 individuals. Film distributor and producer TE Vasudevan was its first recipient. Singer P Jayachandran was the latest recipient – 2020.

Find More Awards News Here

Filmmaker KP Kumaran honoured with JC Daniel Award 2022_5.1DBS bank named 'World's Best SME Bank' by Euromoney for second time_90.1

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *