Home   »   MLA C. Ayyanna Patrudu Elected Speaker...

MLA C. Ayyanna Patrudu Elected Speaker of Andhra Assembly

Telugu Desam Party’s Narsipatnam MLA C. Ayyanna Patrudu was elected unanimously as the Speaker of the 16th Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly on June 22, 2024. Mr. Ayyanna Patrudu’s election was a mere formality as no other MLA filed a nomination for the Speaker’s post to challenge him.

Who is Chintakayala Ayyanna Patrudu?

Chintakayala Ayyanna Patrudu (born 4 September 1957) in Koppula Velama family at Narsipatnam in the erstwhile Visakhapatnam district. Patrudu was born He earned a bachelor’s degree in Arts from PR Government College, Kakinada, in 1978. He represents Narsipatnam Assembly constituency in the APLA. Only three nominations were received for the Speaker’s post, and they all were on behalf of Ayyannapatrudu, said PPK Ramacharyulu, secretary general, Legislative Assembly.

Who were present during oath ceremony?

Three MLAs who did not take oath of office on June 21, finished the formalities later. With the completion of their swearing-in, all the 175 MLAs of the southern state took the oath of office. Meanwhile, YSRCP chief YS Jagan Mohan Reddy is not likely to attend the Assembly as he is scheduled to visit Kadapa district later in the day. The opposition party, the former CM will spend the next three days at Pulivendula. PTI STH K. Addressing the Assembly, Pro-tem Speaker and TDP’s Rajahmundry Rural MLA G Butchaiah Chowdary said that Jana Sena chief Pawan Kalyan, TDP general secretary Nara Lokesh and BJP’s Staya Kumar Yadava made three proposals on behalf of Ayyannapatrudu for the Speaker’s post.

Important takeaways for all competitive exams:

  • Capital of Andhra Pradesh: Amaravati
  • Chief minister of Andhra Pradesh: N. Chandrababu Naidu
  • Governor of Andhra Pradesh: S. Abdul Nazeer
  • Andhra Pradesh state (before was): United Andhra Pradesh
  • Bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh: 1 October 1953 (from Madras Presidency)
  • Bird of Andhra Pradesh: Rose-ringed parakeet



MLA C. Ayyanna Patrudu Elected Speaker of Andhra Assembly_4.1