Home   »   Mumbai Wins Ranji Trophy 2024 After...

Mumbai Wins Ranji Trophy 2024 After Beating Vidarbha

Ranji Trophy 2024

Mumbai won the Ranji Trophy 2024 after beating Vidarbha by 169 runs at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. This was their 42nd Ranji Trophy title, showcasing their dominance in Indian domestic cricket. Mumbai ended their 8-year drought by winning the championship after last lifting the title in the 2015-16 season.

Vidarbha’s Resilience Falls Short

Vidarbha, who had won their previous two Ranji Trophy finals, could not replicate their success this time around. They were set a massive target of 538 runs to chase by Mumbai. Despite a valiant effort from Akshay Wadkar (100 runs) and Harsh Dubey (65 runs), the Vidarbha lower order failed to put up much resistance.

Ajinkya Rahane’s Captaincy Triumph

The win marked a special achievement for Ajinkya Rahane, who became the 26th Mumbai captain to lift the Ranji Trophy. Rahane’s leadership and the team’s collective effort helped them overcome Vidarbha’s challenge.

Ranji Trophy 2024, Prize Money Bonanza

In addition to the ₹5 crore prize money announced by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) for the Ranji Trophy champions, the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) has declared an additional ₹5 crore for the winning team. This means the Mumbai team will receive a whopping ₹10 crore as prize money for their triumph.

Individual Honors of Ranji Trophy 2024

Tanush Kotian was named the Player of the Tournament, while Musheer Khan received the Player of the Match award for his outstanding performance in the final.

With this victory, Mumbai has once again established their supremacy in Indian domestic cricket, and the players will be handsomely rewarded for their remarkable achievement.

Khelo India Rising Talent Identification (KIRTI) Programme Launched_80.1