Home   »   Awards and Honours   »   Nobel Prize in Literature 2023

Nobel Prize in Literature 2023 awarded to Jon Fosse

The Nobel Prize in Literature 2023 was awarded to Norwegian author Jon Fosse or Jon Olav Fosse, “for his innovative plays and prose which give voice to the unsayable”. The Nobel Prize in Literature is awarded by the Swedish Academy, Stockholm, Sweden. The Nobel Prize amount for 2023 is set at Swedish kronor (SEK) 11.0 million per full Nobel Prize.

About the Jon Fosse

Jon Fosse, born in 1959, is widely considered one of the most important writers of our time. For almost forty years he has written novels, plays, poems, stories, essays, and children’s books. His award-winning work has been translated into more than fifty languages, and his plays have been staged over a thousand times all over the world.

Fosse’s first novel, Raudt, svart (Red, Black), was published in 1983, but he considers a short story Han (He), published in a student newspaper in 1981, as his actual literary debut. Already there are many characteristic features of Fosse’s writing: repetition, inner monologue, and a musical, evocative style. Fosse continued to publish prose, poetry, and children’s books through the Eighties, but his breakthrough as an author came with the 1989 novel Naustet (Boathouse).

About the Nobel Prize in Literature 2023

The Nobel Prize in Literature has been awarded 115 times to 119 Nobel Prize laureates between 1901 and 2022.  The Nobel medal in literature was designed by Swedish sculptor and engraver Erik Lindberg and represents a young man sitting under a laurel tree who, enchanted, listens to and writes down the song of the Muse.

Awaiting announcements: Peace and Economics

The anticipation continues as we await the announcements of the Nobel Prizes in Peace and Economic Sciences, scheduled until October 9. The Peace Prize will be revealed on Friday, at 2:30pm, and the Economic Sciences Prize on Monday at 3:15pm.

You may also read this:

Find More Awards News Here

Nobel Prize in Literature 2023 awarded to Jon Fosse_4.1

Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2023 awarded to Moungi G. Bawendi, Louis E. Brus and Alexei I. Ekimov_120.1