Home   »   Appointments   »   Praveen Kumar Srivastava Sworn In as...

Praveen Kumar Srivastava Sworn In as Central Vigilance Commissioner

Praveen Kumar Srivastava, a retired 1988-batch Indian Administrative Service officer of the Assam-Meghalaya cadre, has been officially sworn in as the Central Vigilance Commissioner. The ceremony took place at Rashtrapati Bhavan, where President Droupadi Murmu administered the oath of office to Srivastava. He had been serving as the acting Central Vigilance Commissioner since December, following the completion of Suresh N Patel’s tenure as the chief of the probity watchdog.

A Distinguished Career in Public Service

Srivastava brings with him a wealth of experience and a stellar career in public service. Having superannuated as the secretary (Coordination) at the Cabinet Secretariat on January 31 last year, he has served in various capacities throughout his tenure. His dedication and commitment to upholding integrity and accountability have earned him this prestigious appointment.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

The Central Vigilance Commissioner’s Vital Role

As the Central Vigilance Commissioner, Srivastava assumes a crucial role in ensuring transparency and integrity in the functioning of the government machinery. The Central Vigilance Commission (CVC) is the apex body responsible for maintaining probity in public administration, preventing corruption, and promoting good governance. The Commissioner acts as the watchdog, overseeing the vigilance activities in various government departments and organizations.

Continuity in Leadership

Srivastava’s appointment as the Central Vigilance Commissioner ensures a seamless transition and continuity in leadership. Having served as the acting CVC for several months, he is well-acquainted with the challenges and responsibilities of the position. His familiarity with the organization will facilitate effective decision-making and the implementation of measures to combat corruption.

President Administers Oath of Office

In a formal ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhavan, President Droupadi Murmu administered the oath of office to Praveen Kumar Srivastava. The President’s presence at the swearing-in ceremony highlights the significance of the appointment and underscores the government’s commitment to maintaining probity and transparency.

Dignitaries Witness the Ceremony

The swearing-in ceremony was attended by several dignitaries, including Vice President Jagdeep Dhankhar and Prime Minister Narendra Modi. Their presence reflects the government’s support and recognition of the critical role played by the Central Vigilance Commission in upholding ethical standards and combating corruption in public administration.

Find More Appointments Here

Praveen Kumar Srivastava Sworn In as Central Vigilance Commissioner_4.1


CAG Girish Chandra Murmu re-elected External Auditor of WHO for 4 year term_80.1