Home   »   Sports Current Affairs 2024   »   ITF World Champion Awards 2022

Rafael Nadal and Iga Swiatek crowned ITF World Champions 2022

Rafael Nadal and Iga Swiatek crowned ITF World Champions 2022_4.1

ITF World Champion Awards:

Spanish Tennis Player, Rafael Nadal has been named the Men’s International Tennis Federation (ITF) World Champion 2022 for the 5th time after an outstanding 2022 season. Previously, He has been named the men’s ITF World Champion in 2008, 2010, 2017 and 2019. Polish tennis player, Iga Świątek, has been named Women’s ITF World Champion 2022 for her performance in 2022 winning 2 Grand Slam titles and 8 titles.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

The winners will be honoured at the annual ITF World Champions Awards event which will be held on 8th July 2023 at Victoria and Albert Museum, London, United Kingdom(UK). The event is usually held in Paris France.

ITF World Champion Awards is annually presented under 4 categories:

  • ITF Singles World Champions
  • ITF Doubles World Champions
  • ITF Wheelchair World Champions
  • ITF Junior World Champions

ITF World Champions 2022:

  • Barbora Krejcikova and Katerina Siniakova have been named ITF Women’s Doubles World Champions for the 2nd straight year and the 3rd time overall, having won the title in 2018 and 2021.
  • Rajeev Ram and Joe Salisbury have been named ITF Men’s Doubles World Champions for the 1st time.
  • Japan’s Shingo Kunieda and Netherlands’ Diede de Groot were honoured in the men’s and women’s wheelchair categories
  • At junior level, two-time Grand Slam boys’ singles runner-up Gilles Arnaud Bailly of Belgium has been rewarded for a season of consistent performances, while Roland Garros girls’ singles champion Lucie Havlickova of Czech Republic was crowned as ITF Girls World Champion.

Important takeaways for all competitive exams: 

  • International Tennis Federation (ITF) President­: David Haggerty;
  • International Tennis Federation (ITF) Headquarters­: London, United Kingdom (UK);
  • International Tennis Federation (ITF) Establishment:­ 1913.
Rafael Nadal and Iga Swiatek crowned ITF World Champions 2022_5.1

India hockey team win's Women's FIH Nations Cup 2022_90.1

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *