Sania Mirza becomes 1st Indian to win Fed Cup Heart Award

Indian tennis player Sania Mirza becomes 1st Indian to win Fed Cup Heart Award 2020 for Asia/Oceania zone. She beats Indonesia’s 16-year-old Priska Madelyn Nugroho for this category & received the award for her successful return to the court after becoming a mother. She  is one of 4 winners chosen by a public vote, alongside Anastasija Sevastova of Latvia (wins Qualifiers award), Estonian Anett Kontaveit (Europe/Africa I zone) and Mexico’s Fernanda Contreras Gomez (Americas I zone).

Click Here To Get Test Series For SBI PO 2020

What is Fed cup?

Fed cup is the world’s largest annual international team competition in women’s sport with 108 nations entered in 2019 was launched in 1963. Fed Cup Heart Award is an International Tennis Federation(ITF) initiative established in 2009 to recognise players representing their countries in the Fed Cup by BNP Paribas.

Important takeaways for all competitive exams:

  • International Tennis FederationHeadquarters: London, United Kingdom.
  • International Tennis Federation President: David Haggerty.

Find More Awards News Here


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *