Home   »   Schemes and Committees Current Affairs 2024   »   Sanjay Agarwal to chair the committee...

Sanjay Agarwal to chair the committee Center established to strengthen MSP system

A committee on the Minimum Support Price (MSP) was established by the government eight months after it made a similar commitment in exchange for repealing three divisive agriculture policies. Sanjay Agrawal, a former agricultural secretary, will preside over the committee. The government has made a provision for Sanyukta Kisan Morcha (SKM) to have three representatives on the committee, but the farm organisation has not yet provided any candidates for the group.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams


  • Numerous farmers held a one-year-long agitation at the Delhi borders under the auspices of SKM, which resulted in the government rescinding the farm legislation.
  • The Prime Minister of India, Narendra Modi, had pledged to form a committee to address the farmers’ demand for a legal guarantee on MSP when he announced the repeal of three farm regulations in November of last year.
  • The formation of a committee in this respect was announced in a gazette announcement by the Agriculture Ministry.
  • The panel will include senior member Naveen P Singh of the Commission for Agricultural Costs and Prices (CACP), agri-economists CSC Shekhar from the Indian Institute of Economic Development and Sukhpal Singh from IIM-Ahmedabad, and Niti Aayog member Ramesh Chand.
  • Bharat Bhushan Tyagi, a farmer who has won national awards, three members of SKM, and five members from other farmer organisations make up the committee’s farmer representatives. These members are Gunwant Patil, Krishnaveer Choudhary, Pramod Kumar Choudhary, Guni Prakash, and Sayyed Pasha Patel.

IFFCO Chairman Dilip Sanghani and CNRI General Secretary Binod Anand are two members of the farmers’ cooperative and organisation who are also on the committee. The committee also includes senior representatives from agricultural universities, five secretaries of the federal government, and the chief secretaries of Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim, and Odisha.

Find More News Related to Schemes & Committees


Govt establishes commission to build a framework for right to repair_80.1

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *