Home   »   Appointments   »   Sanjay Varma takes charge as MRPL...

Sanjay Varma takes charge as MRPL Managing Director

Sanjay Varma took over as the Managing Director (additional charge) of Mangalore Refinery and Petrochemicals Ltd (MRPL). Varma has been on the board of MRPL as Director (Refinery) since June 2020. He has also had extensive exposure by being on the boards of ONGC-Mangalore Petrochemicals Ltd and Shell-MRPL Aviation.

A graduate of mechanical engineering, Varma joined MRPL in December 1993 and has played a pivotal role in the execution and operation of all three major phases of the refinery and its aromatic complex.

During his three and half decades of service, he has headed the organisation in Operations Management, Project Management, Materials Management, and Health, Safety and Environment Management. Varma has been instrumental in leading a major revival of MRPL’s fortunes, which has resulted in the best ever physical performance and financial position, making it India’s largest operated single-site oil PSU in the entire nation for the financial year 2022-23.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

History of Mangalore Refinery and Petrochemicals Limited (MRPL) 

Mangalore Refinery and Petrochemicals Limited (MRPL) is a public sector oil refinery and petrochemical company located in Mangalore, Karnataka, India. Here is a brief overview of its history:

MRPL was incorporated on March 7, 1988, as a joint venture between Hindustan Petroleum Corporation Limited (HPCL) and the government of Karnataka. HPCL held a majority stake of 51%, while the government of Karnataka held a 49% stake.

The construction of the refinery began in 1989, and it was commissioned in 1996. The refinery was designed to process crude oil and produce various petroleum products such as petrol, diesel, liquefied petroleum gas (LPG), kerosene, aviation turbine fuel (ATF), and others.

You may also read this:

Find More Appointments Here

Sanjay Varma takes charge as MRPL Managing Director_4.1

CAG Girish Chandra Murmu re-elected External Auditor of WHO for 4 year term_80.1