Current Affairs   »   Schemes and Committees Current Affairs 2023   »   Second Phase of Sari Festival “VIRAASAT”...

Second Phase of Sari Festival “VIRAASAT” Begins in New Delhi

VIRAASAT”-Celebrating 75 handwoven Saris of India

The second phase of the Sari Festival “VIRAASAT”-Celebrating 75 handwoven Saris of India will begin from 3rd to 17th January 2023 at Handloom Haat, Janpath, New Delhi. The Sari Festival VIRAASAT is organized by the Ministry of Textile. In the second stage phase, there are 90 participants from different parts of the country.

There are several Handcrafted varieties of Saris to be displayed in the festival including Tie and Dye, Chikan embroidered Saris, Hand Block Saris, Kalamkari printed Saris, Ajrakh, Kantha, and Phulkari. There is an addition to the exclusive handloom Saris of Jamdani, Ikat, Pochampally, Banaras Brocade, Tussar Silk (Champa), Baluchari, Bhagalpuri Sik, Tangail, Chanderi, Lalitpur, Patola, Paithani, etc.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

Second Phase of Sari Festival “VIRAASAT” Begins in New Delhi- Key Points

  • The first phase of VIRAASAT- Celebrating 75 handwoven Saris of India started on 16th December 2022 and was concluded on 30th December 2022.
  • The event was inaugurated by Finance Minister Smt Nirmala Sitharaman on 16th December along with Minister of State Darshana Jardosh.
  • In the first phase of VIRAASAT, there were 70 participants.
  • A wide publicity program was taken up to advertise the event through Print Media Newspapers, Radio, Posters, Invitation cards, social media, Cultural programs, and Designer workshops.
  • A social media campaign has also been launched under a common hashtag #MySariMyPride to support the Indian handloom weavers.
  • The handloom sector is a symbol of our country’s rich and varied cultural heritage.

“VIRAASAT”-Celebrating 75 handwoven Saris of India: Prominent Varieties of Sari

States Prominent Varieties of Sari
Andhra Pradesh Uppada Jamdhani Sari, Venkatagiri Jamdani Cotton Sari, Kuppadam Sari, Chirala Silk Cotton Sari, Madhavaram Sari and Polavaram Sari
Kerala Balarampuram Sari and Kasavu Sari
Telangana Pochampally Sari, Siddipet Gollabamma Sari, and Narayanpet Sari
Tamil Nadu Kancheepuram Silk Sari, Arni Silk Sari, Thirubuvanam Silk Sari, Vilandai Cotton Sari, Madurai Sari, Paramakudi Cotton Sari, Aruppukottai Cotton Sari, Dindigul Cotton Sari, Coimbatore Cotton Sari, Salem Silk Sari, and Coimbatore (Soft) Silk Sari & Kovai Kora Cotton Saris
Maharashtra Paithani Sari, Karvath Kathi Sari, and Nagpur Cotton Silk
Chhattisgarh Tussar Silk Sari of Champa
Madhya Pradesh Maheshwari Sari and Chanderi Sari
Gujarat Patola Sari, Tangaliya Sari, Ashawali Sari and Kuchchi Sari/Bhujodi Sari
Rajasthan Kota Dorai Sari
Uttar Pradesh Lalitpuri Sari, Banaras, Jangla, Tanchoi, Cutwork, and Jamdani
Jammu & Kashmir Pashmina Sari
Bihar Bhagalpuri Silk Sari and Gopalpur Tassar Sari
Odisha Kotpad Sari and Gopalpur Tassar Sari
West Bengal Jamdani, Santipuri and Tangail
Jharkhand Tussar and Gichha Silk Sari
Karnataka Ilkal Sari
Assam Muga Silk Sari, Mekhla Chadar (Sari)
Punjab Embd. & Croch (Phulkari)

Find More News Related to Schemes & Committees


Second Phase of Sari Festival "VIRAASAT" Begins in New Delhi_50.1


Second Phase of Sari Festival "VIRAASAT" Begins in New Delhi_60.1

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.