Home   »   India's Current Affairs 2023   »   Smart cities India expo

Smart Cities India expo 2022

Smart Cities India Expo 2022

The Smart Cities India Expo combines transformational technology with essential pillars of urban development, such as green buildings, clean energy, clean environment, water, urban mobility, and the use of smart ICT for resource optimization and making cities smart and sustainable.

Since its debut in 2015, the Smart Cities India Expo has grown to become Asia’s largest Expo and Conference on the topic. The event is a carefully designed forum that allows for more in-depth communication and a more practical approach to solving urban concerns. The expo, which includes simultaneous conference sessions, startup chances, and specific industry zones, provides organisations aiming to make smart cities a reality with unrivalled business opportunities. Under one roof, the world’s and India’s smart cities will change city living. It is India’s Largest Technology & Infrastructure Event to accelerate nation-building.

Smart cities awards 2022

The Smart Cities India 2022 Awards are a one-of-a-kind platform that honours, recognises, and encourages individuals, policymakers, businesses, municipalities, government organisations, and associations for their efforts in both the urban and rural sectors. The 3-day expo comes to a close with the Awards Ceremony.

Categories Winners Projects
Best Green Buildings Project Faridabad Smart City Limited ICCC Building
Best Healthcare Initiatives Bhopal Smart City Development Corporation Limited COVID Management through ICCC
Best Startup Initiatives Bhopal Smart City Development Corporation Limited B-Nest Foundation
Best Water Management Solinas Integrity Private Limited Pipeline Management Project for 24×7 Water Supply
City Innovation Ujjain Smart City Limited Digital Center
COVID 19- Recovery Innovation Award Jabalpur Smart City Limited Leveraging ICCC against COVID Pandemic
Digital City New Town Kolkata Green Smart City Corporation Digital Services in New Town Kolkata
Governance and Economy Pimpri Chinchwad Smart City Limited Smart Sarathi
Public Private Partnership Initiatives Indore Smart City Development Limited She Kunj
Safe City Dehradun Smart City Limited DICCC
Smart Energy Project Jabalpur Smart City Limited Smart Light Project
Smart Parking Initiatives Indore Smart City Development Limited Two Wheeler Multi-Level Parking
Smart Urban Mobility Silvassa Smart City Limited E-Bus Project
Smart Waste Disposal and Clean City New Town Kolkata Green Smart City Corporation Integrated Solid Waste Management System in New Town Kolkata
Smart City of the Year Ujjain Smart City Limited MRIDA
Best City Leader of the Year Athar Aamir Khan, IAS, CEO, Srinagar Smart City Limited


Smart cities in India

The Government of India’s National Smart Cities Mission is an urban redevelopment and retrofitting programme with the goal of developing smart cities across the country that are both citizen-friendly and sustainable. The mission will be carried out by the Union Ministry of Urban Development in partnership with the state governments of the individual cities. The programme began with 100 cities, with a completion date set for the projects between 2019 and 2023. As of 2019, the effective cumulative completion rate of all projects is 11 percent. As of March 2022, 3577 projects had been completed out of a total of 6939 tendered projects, utilising 60,073 crore out of a total tendered cost of 191,294 crore.

State/Union Territory Number of Nominations Allocated Names of Cities
Andhra Pradesh 4 Amaravati, Visakhapatnam, Kakinada, Tirupati
Gujarat 6 Gandhinagar, Surat, Vadodara, Rajkot, Ahmedabad, Dahod
Madhya Pradesh 7 Bhopal, Indore, Jabalpur, Gwalior, Satna, Ujjain, Sagar
Tamil Nadu 12 Chennai, Coimbatore, Dindigul, Erode, Madurai, Salem, Thanjavur, Thoothukudi, Tiruchirappalli, Tirunelveli, Tiruppur, Vellore
Karnataka 7 Bengaluru, Mangaluru, Belagavi, Shivamogga, Hubbali-Dharwad, Tumakuru, Davanagere
Kerala 2 Thiruvananthapuram, Kochi
Telangana 2 Warangal, Karimnagar
Maharashtra 18 Thane, Kalyan-Dombivali, Nashik, Amravati, Solapur, Nagpur, Pune, Aurangabad
Uttar Pradesh 14 Lucknow, Kanpur, Prayagraj, Varanasi, Gorakhpur, Raebareli, Jhansi, Aligarh, Saharanpur, Bareilly, Agra, Rampur, Moradabad, Meerut
Rajasthan 4 Jaipur, Udaipur, Ajmer, Kota
Punjab 3 Ludhiana, Jalandhar, Amritsar
Bihar 4 Patna, Muzaffarpur, Bhagalpur, Biharsharif
Haryana 2 Karnal, Faridabad
Assam 1 Guwahati
Odisha 2 Bhubaneshwar, Rourkela
Himachal Pradesh 1 Dharamshala
Uttarakhand 1 Dehradun
Jharkhand 1 Ranchi
Sikkim 1 Namchi
Manipur 1 Imphal
Andaman and Nicobar Islands 1 Port Blair
Arunachal Pradesh 1 Pasighat
Chandigarh 1 Chandigarh
Chhattisgarh 3 Raipur, Bilaspur, Naya Raipur
Dadra and Nagar Haveli 1 Silvassa
Daman and Diu 1 Diu
Delhi 1 New Delhi
Goa 1 Panaji
Lakshadweep 1 Kavaratti
Meghalaya 1 Shillong
Mizoram 1 Aizawl
Nagaland 1 Kohima
Puducherry 1 Oulgaret
Tripura 1 Agartala
Jammu and Kashmir 2 Srinaga

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *