Home   »   Awards and Honours   »   Fields Medal 2022

Ukrainian mathematician Maryna Viazovska wins prestigious Fields Medal 2022

Ukrainian mathematician Maryna Viazovska wins prestigious Fields Medal 2022_4.1

Ukrainian maths professor, Maryna Viazovska, who won the top mathematics prize, the Fields Medal 2022. Viazovska and three other mathematicians received the Fields Medal, dubbed the Nobel prize in maths, in Helsinki after the ceremony was moved from Saint Petersburg to the Finnish capital in response to Moscow’s war.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

Maryna is only the second woman to receive the award, which is awarded to mathematicians under 40, since it was created in 1936. The other female laureate, Iran’s Maryam Mirzakhani, died of breast cancer in 2017 just three years after winning the prize.

The four awardees of the prestigious prize include:

  • France’s Hugo Duminil-Copin (36 years)- Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques
  • US-based June Huh (39 years) – Princeton University
  • Britain’s James Maynard (35 years) – University of Oxford
  • Ukraine’s Maryna Viazovska ( 37 years) – Swiss Federal Institute of Technology

About the Maryna Viazovska:

Viazovska was born in 1984 in Kyiv, when Ukraine was part of the Soviet Union. In Ukraine, she studied at the Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv, before earning a masters degree at Germany’s University of Kaiserslautern and a PhD at the University of Bonn. Since 2018, she has been chair of number theory at the Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne. Her husband Daniil Evtushinsky is a physicist at the Swiss institute.

What is Fields Medal?

Fields medal is the highest honor for a mathematician. The medal is awarded every four years on the occasion of the International Congress of Mathematicians. The Fields Medal is awarded to recognize outstanding mathematical achievement for existing work and for the promise of future achievement. The Fields medal award comprises a gold medal (14 karat gold) bearing the profile of Archimedes and a cash amount. The Fields medal and cash prizes are funded by a trust established by J.C.Fields at the University of Toronto.

Fields Medal Eligibility

Besides outstanding mathematical achievement, the chosen candidate must be below 40 years before January 1st of the year the Field Medals are awarded.

When were Fields medals first awarded?

The Fields Medals were first awarded in 1936 in Oslo, Norway. The Fields medals were conceieved by John Charles Fields, a Canadian mathematician.

Find More Awards News Here

Ukrainian mathematician Maryna Viazovska wins prestigious Fields Medal 2022_5.1

Michelle Poonawalla received the coveted Shiromani Award_90.1

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *