Home   »   General Studies   »   Indian State with Three Capitals

Which Indian State has Three Capitals?

India comprises 28 states and 8 union territories, each contributing to the nation’s vibrant diversity. States like Maharashtra and Uttar Pradesh stand as economic powerhouses, while Himachal Pradesh and Kerala showcase natural beauty. Union territories like Delhi and Jammu and Kashmir hold special administrative status. Together, they form a mosaic of cultures, landscapes, and governance structures, embodying the essence of India’s unity in diversity. In this article, we will get to know about the Indian state that has three capitals.

Which Indian state has Three Capitals?

India, a nation steeped in cultural diversity and historical richness, is home to 28 states and 8 union territories. Each region boasts its own distinctiveness, drawing both domestic and international tourists eager to explore its heritage. Among these states, one stands out for its unique administrative setup — Andhra Pradesh.

Three Capitals of Andhra Pradesh, Know the Names

Andhra Pradesh, a state in southern India, is distinguished by its three capital cities. Here are the names of these three capitals:

  1. Vishakhapatnam
  2. Amravati
  3. Kurnool

The First Capital of Andhra Pradesh – Vishakhapatnam

Andhra Pradesh, a state in southern India, is distinguished by its three capital cities. Under the three Capitals Plan in Andhra Pradesh, CM Jagan Mohan Reddy declared Vishakhapatnam as its new capital. The proposal for Vishakhapatnam as the third capital of Andhra Pradesh faces legal battles as the government seeks decentralization. The first among them is Visakhapatnam, a bustling coastal city renowned for its natural beauty and industrial prowess. Serving as the primary capital, Visakhapatnam hosts the executive functions of the state government, housing administrative headquarters and facilitating governance operations.

The Second Capital of Andhra Pradesh – Amravati

Amaravati, the second capital of Andhra Pradesh, holds significance as the legislative hub of the state. This city, steeped in historical and cultural heritage, accommodates the state’s legislative assembly, where policymakers convene to deliberate and enact various policies and initiatives. Amaravati stands as an essential administrative center, driving the state’s legislative processes forward.

The Third Capital of Andhra Pradesh – Kurnool

Completing the trio of capitals is Kurnool, the judicial capital of Andhra Pradesh. Nestled amidst scenic landscapes and rich heritage sites, Kurnool serves as the seat of the state’s High Court, where critical legal matters are deliberated and decided upon. As the judicial capital, Kurnool symbolizes Andhra Pradesh’s commitment to upholding justice and the rule of law, ensuring equitable access to legal recourse for its citizens.

Why Andhra Pradesh has Three Capitals?

The decision to establish three capitals in Andhra Pradesh aims to foster balanced development, decentralize power, and ensure regional representation. Amaravati’s initial proposal faced challenges, leading to the selection of Visakhapatnam, Amaravati, and Kurnool. This arrangement seeks to address regional disparities, enhance efficiency, and improve accessibility to government services. Ultimately, the three-capital model reflects a strategic effort to promote inclusive governance and cater to the diverse needs of the state’s populace.

List of Former Chief Ministers (2000-2024)_100.1

About the Author

My role as a content writer specializing in current affairs at Adda247 involves meticulously researching and crafting compelling articles aimed at guiding and informing candidates preparing for National and State Level Competitive Government Exams. With a dedication to educational excellence, I strive to keep our candidates abreast of the latest developments and trends in current affairs. By providing insightful and engaging content, I aim to ensure that aspiring candidates are well-prepared and informed for their examinations.