Home   »   2021 Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar winners announced

2021 Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar winners announced

2021 Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar winners announced_4.1

Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for science and technology 2021, were announced during the 80th foundation day of the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR). Every year, CSIR presents this award to scientists below 45 years of age for their contributions in biology, chemistry, mathematics, physics, medicine, engineering and earth, atmosphere, ocean and planetary sciences. The award comprises a cash prize of Rs 5 lakh. 

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

During the ceremony, vice president M Venkaiah Naidu advised CSIR to reinvent itself and turn futuristic while pursuing the science of the highest order.

Here is the list of 11 scientists awardees:

Biological Sciences category:

  • Dr Amit Singh, department of microbiology and cell biology, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru.
  • Dr Arun Kumar Shukla, department of biological sciences and bioengineering, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur.

Chemical sciences category:

  • Two researchers from the Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bengaluru, Dr Kanishka Biswas from the International Centre of Materials Science and Dr T Govindaraju, from the Bio-organic Chemistry Laboratory, announced as recipients.

Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences category:

  • Dr Binoy Kumar Saikia from Coal and Energy Research Group, CSIR North East Institute of Science and Technology, Jorhat, was named recipient.

Engineering sciences category:

  • Dr Debdeep Mukhopadhyay, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, received the award under the engineering sciences category.

Mathematical sciences category:

  • Dr Anish Ghosh, school of mathematics, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai.
  • Dr Saket Saurabh, The Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai, were announced winners.

Medical sciences:

  • Dr Jeemon Panniyammakal, Achutha Menon Centre for Health Science Studies, Sree Chitra Tirunal Institute for Medical Sciences and Technology, Thiruvananthapuram.
  • Dr Rohit Srivastava, department of biosciences and bioengineering, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay.

Physical sciences:

  • Dr Kanak Saha, from Pune’s Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics, received the award for physical sciences.

About the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize:

The Prize is bestowed on a person who, in the opinion of CSIR, has made conspicuously important and outstanding contributions to human knowledge and progress fundamental and applied, in the particular field of endeavour, which is his/her specialization.

Find More Awards News Here

2021 Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar winners announced_5.1

75 Divyangjan felicitated with Hunarbaaz Awards_90.1

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *