Home   »   All Ballon d’Or winners (1956-2023)

All Ballon d’Or winners (1956-2023)

All Ballon d’Or winners (1956-2023)

The Ballon d’Or, often referred to as the ‘Golden Ball,’ stands as one of the most prestigious honors in the world of football, celebrating the outstanding player of the season. Over the years, this illustrious award has been claimed by football legends such as Johan Cruyff, Eusébio, Gerd Müller, Zinedine Zidane, Ronaldo, and Lionel Messi, each leaving an indelible mark on the sport’s history.

Lionel Messi Wins Eighth Ballon D’Or 2023

Messi, in particular, has etched his name into the record books by securing an unmatched eight Ballon d’Or titles, while Cristiano Ronaldo boasts the most nominations with an impressive 18 to his name. Established by the French news magazine France Football in 1956, the Ballon d’Or has been an annual tradition, with the exception of 2020 when the COVID-19 pandemic disrupted its continuity. The inaugural recipient of this esteemed award was England’s Stanley Matthews. Notably, in 2018, the Ballon d’Or Féminin was introduced, with Ada Hegerberg of Norway becoming the first-ever recipient of this accolade, marking a significant moment in recognizing the accomplishments of female footballers.

Full list of Ballon d’Or winners below

Year Winner
2023 Lionel Messi (Argentina)
2022 Karim Benzema (France)
2021 Lionel Messi (Argentina)
2020 Not awarded due to the 2020 COVID-19 pandemic
2019 Lionel Messi (Argentina)
2018 Luka Modric (Croatia)
2017 Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
2016 Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
2015 Lionel Messi (Argentina)
2014 Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
2013 Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
2012 Lionel Messi (Argentina)
2011 Lionel Messi (Argentina)
2010 Lionel Messi (Argentina)
2009 Lionel Messi (Argentina)
2008 Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
2007 Kaká (Brazil)
2006 Fabio Cannavaro (Italy)
2005 Ronaldinho (Brazil)
2004 Andriy Shevchenko (Ukraine)
2003 Pavel Nedvěd (Czechia)
2002 Ronaldo (Brazil)
2001 Michael Owen (England)
2000 Luís Figo (Portugal)
1999 Rivaldo (Brazil)
1998 Zinedine Zidane (France)
1997 Ronaldo (Brazil)
1996 Matthias Sammer (Germany)
1995 George Weah (Liberia)
1994 Hristo Stoichkov (Bulgaria)
1993 Roberto Baggio (Italy)
1992 Marco van Basten (Netherlands)
1991 Jean-Pierre Papin (France)
1990 Lothar Matthäus (Germany)
1989 Marco van Basten (Netherlands)
1988 Marco van Basten (Netherlands)
1987 Ruud Gullit (Netherlands)
1986 Igor Belanov (Soviet Union)
1985 Michel Platini (France)
1984 Michel Platini (France)
1983 Michel Platini (France)
1982 Paolo Rossi (Italy)
1981 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (West Germany)
1980 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (West Germany)
1979 Kevin Keegan (England)
1978 Kevin Keegan (England)
1977 Allan Simonsen (Denmark)
1976 Franz Beckenbauer (West Germany)
1975 Oleg Blokhin (Soviet Union)
1974 Johan Cruyff (Netherlands)
1973 Johan Cruyff (Netherlands)
1972 Franz Beckenbauer (West Germany)
1971 Johan Cruyff (Netherlands)
1970 Gerd Müller (West Germany)
1969 Gianni Rivera (Italy)
1968 George Best (Northern Ireland)
1967 Flórián Albert (Hungary)
1966 Bobby Charlton (England)
1965 Eusébio (Portugal)
1964 Denis Law (Scotland)
1963 Lev Yashin (Soviet Union)
1962 Josef Masopust (Czechoslovakia)
1961 Omar Sívori (Italy)
1960 Luis Suárez (Spain)
1959 Alfredo Di Stéfano (Argentina)
1958 Raymond Kopa (France)
1957 Alfredo Di Stéfano (Argentina)
1956 Stanley Matthews (England)
2023 (Ballon d’Or Féminin) Aitana Bonmati (Spain)
2022 (Ballon d’Or Féminin) Alexia Putellas (Spain)
2021 (Ballon d’Or Féminin) Alexia Putellas (Spain)
2020 (Ballon d’Or Féminin) Not awarded due to the 2020 COVID-19 pandemic
2019 (Ballon d’Or Féminin) Megan Rapinoe (United States)
2018 (Ballon d’Or Féminin) Ada Hegerberg (Norway)


Find More Sports News Here

National Games 2023 Medal Tally: Check the Complete List of Winners_100.1