Home   »   Lionel Messi wins eighth Ballon d'Or...

Lionel Messi wins eighth Ballon d’Or 2023

Lionel Messi wins eighth Ballon d’Or 2023

Lionel Messi and Aitana Bonmati have been honored as the 2023 Ballon d’Or recipients. Messi secures his eighth Ballon d’Or, setting a new record, thanks to his pivotal role in leading Argentina to their first World Cup victory since 1986. This remarkable achievement places Messi three Ballons d’Or ahead of his rival Cristiano Ronaldo, who last won the award in 2017. Messi has now been a top-three finalist for this prestigious accolade a total of 14 times, with five instances as the runner-up.

Lionel Messi Biography, Age, Wife, Retirement, Net Worth And Salary

Before this, Messi’s teammate in the World Cup-winning Argentine squad, Emiliano Martinez, was recognized with the Lev Yashin Award for the world’s best goalkeeper. Aitana Bonmati, a key player in Spain’s Women’s World Cup victory and a Barcelona midfielder, claimed the women’s Ballon d’Or.

Messi, who secured his inaugural Ballon d’Or in 2009 and held a four-year consecutive streak until 2012, was the runner-up to Haaland at the UEFA awards back in August.

Ballon d’Or 2023: All award winners – Complete list

Award Winner
Ballon d’Or Lionel Messi (Inter Miami, Argentina)
Ballon d’Or Feminin Aitana Bonmatí (FC Barcelona Femení, Spain)
Kopa Trophy for the best male U-21 player Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid, England)
Yachine Trophy for the best male goalkeeper Emiliano Martínez (Aston Villa, Argentina)
Gerd Müller Trophy for the highest-scoring male striker Erling Haaland (Manchester City, Norway)
Sócrates Award to acknowledge humanitarian work Vinicius Junior (Real Madrid, Brazil)
Club of the Year Manchester City and FC Barcelona Femení

Find More Sports News Here


Lionel Messi wins eighth Ballon d'Or 2023_4.1


National Games 2023 Medal Tally: Check the Complete List of Winners_100.1