Home   »   Awards and Honours   »   British children's writer Michael Rosen awarded...

British children’s writer Michael Rosen awarded the PEN Pinter Prize 2023

Renowned children’s writer and performance poet, Michael Rosen, aged 77, has been honored with the esteemed PEN Pinter Prize 2023. This prestigious award is bestowed upon a writer hailing from the United Kingdom, Ireland, or the Commonwealth, whose body of work fearlessly uncovers and reveals truths about the realities of modern-day existence.

Who is Michael Rosen?

Michael Rosen, who served as the British Children’s Laureate from 2007 to 2009, is celebrated for his efforts to make poetry engaging and relatable to children through his works and performances. His poetry delves into social, political, and ethical themes. In his book “On the Move: Poems about Migration” published in 2020, Rosen examines the subject of migration from multiple angles. Divided into four sections, the collection draws from his own family’s experiences and offers a global perspective on the ongoing migration movements across Europe, both in contemporary times and throughout history.

Rosen’s most well-known works

Michael Rosen has authored several acclaimed books, including “You Can’t Catch Me” (1982), which received the Signal Poetry Award. Another notable work is “You Wait Till I Am Older Than You” (1996), along with “Rover” (2007) and “Fantastic Mr Dahl” (2012), which explores the life and writings of Roald Dahl. One of his most beloved picture books, “We’re Going on a Bear Hunt” (1989), illustrated by Helen Oxenbury, has become a timeless tale of triumphing over challenges. This book has achieved remarkable success, selling over nine million copies worldwide and earning prestigious honors such as the Nestlé Smarties Book Prize.

About the PEN Pinter Prize 2023

PEN Pinter Prize 2023 is given to a writer from the UK, Ireland and the Commonwealth whose work is committed to a fearless exposition of truth about contemporary life. The prize is shared with an international writer of courage selected by English PEN’s Writers at Risk Committee in association with the winner. This half of the prize is awarded to someone who has been persecuted for speaking out about their beliefs. Some of the previous award-winning writers are Malorie Blackman(2022), Tsitsi Dangarembga (2021) Hanif Kureishi (2010), Salman Rushdie (2014), and Lemn Sissay (2019).

Boxing champion Mary Kom named Global Indian Icon at UK-India Awards_110.1