Home   »   ICC ODI World Cup 2027

ICC ODI World Cup 2027: Know Teams, Qualification, Format and More

ICC ODI World Cup 2027

With the conclusion of the 2023 ICC ODI World Cup, cricket enthusiasts around the globe are already looking forward to the next edition of this grand event. The 14th edition, slated for 2027, promises to bring new excitement and competition as South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Namibia take on the role of hosts.

ODI World Cup Expanded Participation:

In a significant move, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has decided to enhance the scale of the tournament. Unlike the 10-team format witnessed in 2023, the 2027 ICC ODI World Cup will feature 14 teams vying for the prestigious title. This expansion aims to make the tournament more inclusive and provide opportunities for a broader range of cricketing nations.

World Cup Host Countries and Venues:

South Africa and Zimbabwe, having shared the hosting rights for the 2023 edition, will once again welcome cricket fans in 2027. Additionally, Namibia joins as a co-host, marking the tournament’s spread across three African nations. The matches are anticipated to unfold across multiple venues, continuing the tradition of showcasing the cricketing spectacle in diverse settings.

World Cup 2027 Qualification Scenarios:

Direct entry into the main event will be granted to the top eight teams in the ICC ODI rankings, along with the co-hosts, South Africa and Zimbabwe. The remaining four slots will be determined through a rigorous qualifying campaign spanning continents. Notably, Namibia, despite being a host, will participate in the Africa Qualifiers due to its status as a non-full ICC member.

World Cup Modified Tournament Format:

Departing from the single round-robin format of 2023, the 2027 ODI World Cup will introduce a more intricate structure. The participating teams will be divided into two groups, each comprising seven teams. The pool stage will see every team facing their group members once. The top three teams from each group will advance to the Super Six round.

World Cup Points Carry Forward System:

A notable return from the past will be witnessed with the reintroduction of the Points Carry Forward (PCF) system, reminiscent of the 1999 edition. Points accumulated during the group stage will be carried forward to the Super Six round. Teams will be awarded two points for a win against a Super Six-qualified team and one point for defeating an eliminated side. The top four teams in the Super Six points table will progress to the knockout stage.

World Cup Defending Champions and Player of the Match:

Australia, having clinched their sixth title in the 2023 ODI World Cup by defeating hosts India, will enter the 2027 edition as the reigning champions. Travis Head’s spectacular 137-run knock in the final earned him the Player of the Match accolade, setting the stage for Australia’s title defense.

As cricket enthusiasts eagerly await the 2027 ICC ODI World Cup, the tournament’s expanded format and modified structure promise a captivating spectacle, showcasing the best of international cricket.

Find More Sports News Here

IPL Auction 2024- List of Players Released by 10 Teams_80.1