Home   »   Most runs in T20 World Cup...

Most runs in T20 World Cup 2024, Check the Top Run-Scorer

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 has captured the hearts and minds of cricket enthusiasts worldwide. This prestigious tournament, being held in the picturesque settings of the West Indies and the United States of America, marks a significant milestone in the world of cricket.

Most runs in T20 World Cup 2024

Keep up with the highest scorers in the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 with our Most Runs leaderboard. This section showcases the top batsmen based on the number of runs they’ve accumulated during the tournament. We update this leaderboard after each match to include statistics such as total runs, strike rate, and batting average. Stay updated on the key players and their performances for their teams.  With 281 runs from Eight games, Rahmanullah Gurbaz of Afghanistan is the top scorer in the T20 World Cup 2024.

Player Runs Matches Average
Rahmanullah Gurbaz (AFG) 281 8 35.12
Rohit Sharma (IND) 257 8 36.71
Travis Head (AUS) 255 7 42.50
Quinton de Kock (SA) 243 9 27.00
Ibrahim Zadran (AFG) 231 8 28.87
Nicholas Pooran (WI) 228 7 38.00
Andries Gous (USA) 219 6 43.80
Jos Buttler (ENG) 214 8 42.80
Suryakumar Yadav (IND) 199 8 28.42
Phil Salt (ENG) 188 8 37.60

Top Run Scorers in T20 World Cup History

The Inaugural Champion: Matthew Hayden (2007)

Australia’s Matthew Hayden set the benchmark in the very first T20 World Cup. His tally of 265 runs in six matches demonstrated the potential for high scoring in this new format. Hayden’s aggressive batting style perfectly suited the T20 game, inspiring a generation of power hitters.

The Double Threat: Virat Kohli (2014 and 2022)

India’s Virat Kohli stands alone as the only player to top the run-scoring charts in two different T20 World Cups. His exceptional performances include:

  1. 2014 World Cup (Bangladesh): 319 runs at an astounding average of 106.33
  2. 2022 World Cup (Australia): 296 runs

Kohli’s 319 runs in 2014 remains the highest individual tally in a single T20 World Cup edition, a testament to his consistency and adaptability.

Other Batting Maestros

Several other cricketing legends have left their mark on the T20 World Cup:

  • Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka, 2009)
  • Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka, 2010)
  • Shane Watson (Australia, 2012)
  • Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh, 2016)
  • Babar Azam (Pakistan, 2021)

Each of these batsmen topped the run-scoring charts in their respective World Cup years, showcasing their exceptional skills and contributing to their teams’ success.

Most runs in T20 World Cup 2024, Check the Top Run-Scorer_4.1