Home   »   General Studies   »   Nobel Peace Prize Winners List

Nobel Peace Prize Winners Till 2023

The Nobel Peace Prize stands as one of the most esteemed accolades globally, honoring individuals, organizations and movements that have made noteworthy contributions to advancing peace and resolving conflicts. Since its establishment in 1901, the Nobel Peace Prize has been a tribute to those who have dedicated themselves to fostering positive transformation on a global scale. This article aims to provide a comprehensive list of Nobel Peace Prize laureates up to the year 2023.

List of Nobel Peace Prize Winners List Till 2023

Here is the list of Nobel Peace Prize Winners from 1901 to 2023:

Nobel Peace Prize Winners (1901-2023)
Year Name Country
1901 Henri Dunant Switzerland
Frederic Passy France
1902 Elie Ducommun Switzerland
Charles-Albert Gobat Switzerland
1903 Sir Randal Cremer U.K.
1904 Institute of International Law (founded 1873)
1905 Bertha, baroness von Suttner Austria-Hungary
1906 Theodore Roosevelt U.S.
1907 Ernesto Teodoro Moneta Italy
Louis Renault France
1908 Klas Pontus Arnoldson Sweden
Fredrik Bajer Denmark
1909 Auguste-Marie-Francois Beernaert Belgium
Paul-H.-B. d’Estournelles de Constant France
1910 International Peace Bureau (founded 1891)
1911 Tobias Michael Carel Asser Netherlands
Alfred Hermann Fried Austria-Hungary
1912 Elihu Root U.S.
1913 Henri-Marie Lafontaine Belgium
1917 International Committee of the Red Cross (founded 1863)
1919 Woodrow Wilson U.S.
1920 Leon Bourgeois France
1921 Karl Hjalmar Branting Sweden
Christian Lous Lange Norway
1922 Frank B. kellogg U.S.
1930 Nathan Soderblom Sweden
1931 Jane Addams U.S.
Nicholas Murray Butler U.S.
1933 Sir Norman Angell U.K.
1934 Arthur Henderson U.K.
1935 Carl von Ossietzky Germany
1936 Carlos Saavedra Lamas Argentina
1937 Robert Gascoyne-Cecil, 1st Viscount Cecil U.K.
1938 Nansen International Office for Refugees (founded 1931)
1944 International Committee of the Red Cross (founded 1863)
1945 Cordell Hull U.S.
1946 Emily Greene Balch U.S.
John R. Mott U.S.
1947 American Friends Service Committee U.S.
Friends Service Council (FSC) U.K.
1949 John Boyd Orr, Baron Boyd-Orr of Brechin Mearns U.K.
1950 Ralph Bunche U.S.
1951 Leon Jouhaux France
1952 Albert Schweitzer Alsace
1953 George C. Marshall U.S.
1954 Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (founded 1951)
1957 Lester B. Pearson Canada
1958 Dominique Pire Belgium
1959 Philip John Noel-Baker, Baron Noel-Baker U.K.
1960 Albert John Luthuli South Africa
1961 Dag Hammarskjold Sweden
1962 Linus Pauling U.S.
1963 International Committee of the Red Cross (founded 1863)
League of Red Cross Societies (founded 1919)
1964 Martin Luther King, Jr. U.S.
1965 United Nations Children’s Fund (founded 1946)
1968 Rene Cassin France
1969 International Labor Organization (founded 1919)
1970 Norman Ernest Borlaug U.S.
1971 Willy Brandt West Germany
1973 Henry Kissinger U.S.
Le Duc Tho North Vietnam
1974 Sean MacBride Ireland
Sato Eisaku Japan
1975 Andrey Dmitriyevich Sakharov U.S.S.R.
1976 Mairead Corrigan Northern Ireland
Betty Williams Northern Ireland
1977 Amnesty International (founded 1961)
1978 Menachem Begin Israel
Anwar el-Sadat Egypt
1979 Mother Teresa India
1980 Adolfo Perez Esquivel Argentina
1981 Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (founded 1951)
1982 Alfonso Garcia Robles Mexico
Alva Myrdal Sweden
1983 Lech Walesa Poland
1984 Desmond Tutu South Africa
1985 International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War (founded 1980)
1986 Elie Wiesel U.S.
1987 Oscar Arias Sanchez Costa Rica
1988 United Nations Peacekeeping Force
1989 Dalai Lama Tibet
1990 Mikhail Gorbachev U.S.S.R.
1991 Aung San Suu kyi Myanmar
1992 Rigoberta Menchu Guatemala
1993 F.W. de Klerk South Africa
Nelson Mandela South Africa
1994 Yasser Arafat Palestinian
Shimon Peres Israel
Yitzhak Rabin Israel
1995 Pugwash Conferences (founded 1957)
Joseph Rotblat U.K.
1996 Carlos Filipe Ximenes Belo East Timor
Jose Ramos-Horta East Timor
1997 International Campaign to Ban Landmines (founded 1992)
John Williams U.S.
1998 John Hume Northern Ireland
David Trimble Northern Ireland
1999 Doctors Without Borders (founded 1971)
2000 Kim Dae-Jung South Korea
2001 United Nations (founded 1945)
Kofi Annan Ghana
2002 Jimmy Carter U.S.
2003 Shirin Ebadi Iran
2004 Wangari Maathai Kenya
2005 Mohamed EIBaradei Egypt
International Atomic Energy Agency (founded 1957)
2006 Grameen Bank (founded 1957)
Muhammad Yunus Bangladesh
2007 AI Gore U.S.
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (founded 1988)
2008 Martti Ahtisaari Finland
2009 Barack Obama U.S.
2010 Liu Xiaobo China
2011 Leymah Gbowee Liberia
Ellen Johnson Sirleaf Liberia
Tawakkul Karman Yemen
2012 European Union (founded 1993)
2013 Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (founded 1997)
2014 Kailash Satyarthi India
Malala Yousafzai Pakistan
2015 National Dialogue Quartet (founded 2013)
2016 Juan Manuel Santos Colombia
2017 International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (founded 2007)
2018 Denis Mukwege Democratic Republic of Congo
Nadia Murad Iraq
2019 Abiy Ahmed Ethiopia
2020 World Food Programme (founded 1961)
2021 Dmitry Muratov Russia
Maria Ressa Phil./U.S.
2022 Ales Bialiatski Belarus
Center for Civil Liberties Ukraine
Memorial Russia


Find More General Studies News Here


First Female Doctor of India, Know Her Name_90.1



About the Author

My role as a content writer specializing in current affairs at Adda247 involves meticulously researching and crafting compelling articles aimed at guiding and informing candidates preparing for National and State Level Competitive Government Exams. With a dedication to educational excellence, I strive to keep our candidates abreast of the latest developments and trends in current affairs. By providing insightful and engaging content, I aim to ensure that aspiring candidates are well-prepared and informed for their examinations.