Home   »   Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana

Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (PMAY): A Comprehensive Overview

Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (PMAY) is an initiative launched by the Government of India to provide affordable housing to the urban and rural poor. This flagship scheme aims to achieve the vision of “Housing for All” by the year 2022. It is one of the most ambitious and comprehensive housing schemes in India’s history.

Date of Launch

Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana was launched on June 25, 2015.

Implementing Ministry

The scheme is implemented by the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs (MoHUA) for urban areas and the Ministry of Rural Development (MoRD) for rural areas.


The primary objectives of PMAY are:

  1. Affordable Housing for All: Ensure a pucca house with water connection, toilet facilities, and 24×7 electricity supply and access.
  2. Urban Areas: Construct 20 million houses for the urban poor, including Economically Weaker Sections (EWS), Low Income Groups (LIGs), and Middle Income Groups (MIGs).
  3. Rural Areas: Provide financial assistance for the construction of 29.5 million houses in rural areas.
  4. Encourage Slum Rehabilitation: Promote slum rehabilitation projects to replace slum dwellings with permanent housing.
  5. Credit Linked Subsidy Scheme (CLSS): Offer interest subsidies on home loans for EWS, LIG, MIG-I, and MIG-II segments.
  6. Empower Women: Encourage women ownership in housing to ensure gender equity in property ownership.

Components of PMAY

PMAY has four primary components to address the housing needs of different segments of society:

  1. In-Situ Slum Redevelopment (ISSR): Utilizing land as a resource, slum dwellers are provided houses through private participation.
  2. Affordable Housing in Partnership (AHP): Financial assistance is provided to public and private sectors to construct houses for the EWS category.
  3. Beneficiary-Led Individual House Construction or Enhancement (BLC): Assistance is given to individual eligible families belonging to EWS categories to either construct new houses or enhance existing houses.
  4. Credit Linked Subsidy Scheme (CLSS): Home loan interest subsidies are provided to EWS, LIG, MIG-I, and MIG-II segments, making home loans more affordable.

Eligibility Criteria

The scheme is targeted at:

  1. Economically Weaker Section (EWS): Households with an annual income up to ₹3 lakhs.
  2. Low Income Group (LIG): Households with an annual income between ₹3 lakhs and ₹6 lakhs.
  3. Middle Income Group I (MIG-I): Households with an annual income between ₹6 lakhs and ₹12 lakhs.
  4. Middle Income Group II (MIG-II): Households with an annual income between ₹12 lakhs and ₹18 lakhs.

Additionally, the beneficiary family should not own a pucca house in any part of India to qualify for the benefits under PMAY.

Funding and Subsidies

  1. Urban Areas: The Central government provides assistance of ₹1 lakh to ₹2.3 lakhs per house under different verticals.
  2. Rural Areas: Financial assistance of ₹1.2 lakhs per unit in plain areas and ₹1.3 lakhs per unit in hilly and difficult areas.
  3. Credit Linked Subsidy: Interest subsidy up to 6.5% for EWS and LIG, 4% for MIG-I, and 3% for MIG-II.

Progress and Impact

As of [Latest Update Year], the PMAY scheme has sanctioned millions of houses under its various components, significantly contributing to the reduction of the housing deficit in India. The scheme has not only provided shelter but also improved the quality of life for millions of beneficiaries by providing basic amenities.

Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (PMAY): A Comprehensive Overview_4.1