Home   »   Rohit Sharma Becomes First Batter to...

Rohit Sharma Becomes First Batter to Hit 200 Sixes in T20Is

Rohit Sharma became the first player to hit 200 sixes in T20Is during the T20 World Cup 2024 Super Eight Group 1 match against Australia at the Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium in St. Lucia on June 24. Rohit struck a 41-ball 92 and hit eight sixes in the innings, taking his overall tally to 203 maximums in the shortest format of the game.

Rohit enters record books

As mentioned, Rohit has become the first-ever batter to record 200 sixes in T20I cricket. Only one other batter has more than 150 maximums in the format. New Zealand’s Martin Guptill follows Rohit with 173 T20I sixes. Among Indians, only Surya Kumar Yadav (129) and Virat Kohli (121) has over 100 sixes in T20I cricket.

Rohit has over 600 international sixes

Earlier this month, Rohit completed 600 sixes in international cricket. The 37-year-old got to this feat in his 52-run knock against Ireland in New York. Rohit became the first-ever player to smack 600 sixes across formats. Chris Gayle, who played his last international game in 2021, remains the only other player to have slammed over 500 maximums (553).

His tally of sixes across internationals

Rohit, who made his international debut in 2007, has been a six-hitting machine in each of the three formats. Besides hitting over 200 T20I sixes, Rohit owns 323 maximums in ODI cricket, the third-most after Shahid Afridi (351) and Gayle (331). Rohit is one of only two Indian cricketers with over 80 sixes (84) in Test cricket, the other being Virender Sehwag (91).

List of batters with the most T20I sixes.

Position Player Country Matches Runs Sixes
1 Rohit Sharma India 157* 4114* 200
2 Martin Guptill New Zealand 122 3531 173
3 Jos Buttler England 123 3241 137
4 Glenn Maxwell Australia 113 2580 133
6 Nicholas Pooran West Indies 95 2076 132
7 Suryakumar Yadav India 66 2259 129
8 Paul Stirling Ireland 145 3601 128
8 Aaron Finch Australia 103 3120 125
9 Chris Gayle West Indies 79 1899 124
10 Muhammad Waseem UAE 53 1977 123

Rohit Sharma Becomes First Batter to Hit 200 Sixes in T20Is_4.1