Home   »   Sports Current Affairs 2024   »   Shreyanka Patil becomes first Indian cricketer...

Shreyanka Patil becomes first Indian cricketer to be part of Caribbean Premier League

Young spin bowler Shreyanka Patil has made history by becoming the first Indian cricketer to be signed for the Women’s Caribbean Premier League (WCPL). Interestingly, Patil is also the first Indian player to be offered a contract in an overseas league before making her international debut. Shreyanka Patil made a name for herself when she was selected for Royal Challenger’s Bangalore (RCB) in the inaugural edition of the WPL. In the 7 matches she played for RCB, the all-rounder took 6 wickets and scored 62 runs.

Patil has been selected for Guyana Amazon Warriors in the WCPL, which will be held from 31 August to 10 September. BCCI has allowed Indian women cricketers to play in foreign cricket leagues and senior players like Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana, Jemima Rodrigues, Shafali Verma, Deepti Sharma and Richa Ghosh have played in the WBBL or The Hundred.

Shreyanka even won the ‘Player of the Tournament’ award in the recently concluded Women’s Emerging Asia Cup held in Hong Kong for her stellar performance. She showcased exceptional bowling skills in the event and bagged nine wickets in just two completed games.

About the Women’s Caribbean Premier League (WCPL)

Speaking of the WCPL 2023, the upcoming event promises an exhilarating cricketing experience, with an expanded schedule featuring seven matches to be played in 11 days. The tournament will witness the participation of three teams, namely the Barbados Royals, Guyana Amazon Warriors, and the Trinbago Knight Riders. Shreyanka’s inclusion in the Guyana Amazon Warriors side adds a new dimension to the competition, capturing the attention and excitement of Indian cricket enthusiasts.

Here are the complete squads of all three teams:

  • Barbados Royals: Hayley Matthews, Chinelle Henry, Qiana Joseph, Marizanne Kapp, Laura Harris, Amanda-Jade Wellington, Gaby Lewis, Afy Fletcher, Aaliyah Alleyne, Rashada Williams, Jannillea Glasgow, Chedean Nation, Vanessa Watts, Trishan Holder, Jahzara Claxton.
  • Guyana Amazon Warriors: Stafanie Taylor, Suzie Bates, Shemaine Campbelle, Sophie Devine, Shreyanka Patil, Cherry-Ann Fraser, Shabika Gajnabi, Sheneta Grimmond, Shabnim Ismail, Djenaba Joseph, Natasha McLean, Ashmini Munisar, Karishma Ramharack, Kaysia Schultz, Shakera Selman.
  • Trinbago Knight Riders: Deandra Dottin, Shamilia Connell, Britney Cooper, Dane van Niekerk, Mignon du Preez, Fran Jonas, Lee-Ann Kirby, Kycia Knight, Kyshona Knight, Anisa Mohammed, Carena Noel, Orla Prendergast, Samara Ramnath, Shunelle Sawh, Zaida James.

Find More Sports News Here

Shreyanka Patil becomes first Indian cricketer to be part of Caribbean Premier League_4.1

Yuki Bhambri thrilled with maiden ATP doubles title_110.1