Home   »   Awards and Honours   »   Social Innovators from India Win Accolades...

Social Innovators from India Win Accolades at the 4th edition of AIGIF in Malaysia

The 4th edition of the ASEAN India Grassroots Innovation Forum (AIGIF), hosted by Malaysia’s Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation (MOSTI), concluded on November 30, 2023. The event celebrated grassroots and student innovators from India and across the ASEAN Member States (AMS). Among the notable winners were Dr. Dipak Bharali, Mr. Sunil Shinde and Ms. Aanchal Aggrawal from India.

Grassroots Innovation Winners

Mr. Dipak Bharali, hailing from Sualkuchi, Kamrup, Assam, secured the 1st prize for his innovation, the Weft Insertion Device. This groundbreaking creation adds to his list of accolades, including a state award during the 5th National Grassroots Innovation and Outstanding Traditional Knowledge Award by the National Innovation Foundation (NIF).

Mr. Sunil Shinde, based in Jalna, Maharashtra, claimed the 3rd prize for his Silkworm Breeding Net Folding Machine. His inventive prowess was previously recognized at the 11th National Grassroots Innovation and Outstanding Traditional Knowledge Award of NIF.

Student Innovation Winners

Ms. Aanchal Aggarwal from Delhi secured the 3rd prize in the student innovation category for her creation, Parkinson Lathi. Her talent was previously acknowledged with the INSPIRE MANAK award in the 10th National Level Exhibition and Project Competition (NLEPC) held in October 2023.

Dignitaries and Key Figures

The award ceremony was graced by key dignitaries, including Chang Lih Kang (Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation, Malaysia), Dato’ Technologist Dr. Hj. Aminuddin Hassim (Secretary General of MOSTI, Malaysia), Dr. Zurina Moktar (Head of STI Division, ASEAN Secretariat) and others. They presented the awards to the deserving winners, recognizing their contributions to innovation.

List of Winners

The list of winners is given below:

Prize Innovator’s Name Country Title of Innovation
Grassroots Innovation Competition 1. Mr. Dipak Bharali India Weft Insertion Device
2. Mr. Chatchai Deesawat Thailand EV Ever-Greem
3. Mr. Sunil Sinde


Mr. Rusdi Bin Mohd Rifin




Silkworm Breeding Net Folding Machine

Compact Semi-Auto/Manual Sate Skewering Machine

Student Innovation Competition 1. Kawinnart Pongmesa Thailand Organic Sanitary Pads From Plant Fibers Coated With Kaffir Lime Extract
2. Huda Solehah Muhammad Sallehuddin Malaysia Ruboba & Ruscrub
3. Aanchal Aggarwal India Parkinson Lathi


AIGIF Overview

The AIGIF serves as an annual platform fostering collaboration between India and ASEAN Member States in Science, Technology and Innovation (STI). The 2023 edition featured speaker sessions, panel discussions and an exhibition of innovations, with participation from 11 countries. The program aims to showcase social innovations, strengthen grassroots innovation ecosystems and promote cooperation in STI.

Collaboration and Execution

The AIGIF is a collaborative effort involving the ASEAN Committee on Science, Technology and Innovation (COSTI), the Department of Science & Technology (DST) of the Government of India, the National Innovation Foundation (NIF) – India and the Science and Technology Ministry of the host nation, MOSTI. The execution of the event in 2023 was carried out by Yayasan Inovasi Malaysia (YIM), an agency under MOSTI.

Important Questions Related to Exams

Q1. Who won the 1st prize in the Grassroots Innovation Competition at AIGIF 2023?

Sol. Dr. Dipak Bharali from Sualkuchi, Assam India, won the 1st prize for his Weft Insertion Device.

Q2. What innovation earned M. Aanchal Aggrawal the 3rd prize in the Student Innovation Competition?

Sol. Ms. Aanchal Aggrawal from Delhi won the 3rd prize for her innovation, Pakinson Lathi.

Q3. Who presented awards at the AIGIF 2023 ceremony, recognizing innovators’ contributions?

Sol. Dignitaries including Chang Lih Kang, Dato’ Technologist Dr. Hj. Aminuddin Hassim and Dr. Zurina Moktar presented awards.

 Find More Awards News Here


List of Dada Saheb Phalke Award Winners (1969 -2023)_80.1

About the Author

My role as a content writer specializing in current affairs at Adda247 involves meticulously researching and crafting compelling articles aimed at guiding and informing candidates preparing for National and State Level Competitive Government Exams. With a dedication to educational excellence, I strive to keep our candidates abreast of the latest developments and trends in current affairs. By providing insightful and engaging content, I aim to ensure that aspiring candidates are well-prepared and informed for their examinations.